Waiting on Wednesday #24 | Love & Luck by Jenna Evans Welch

wed Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme that highlights upcoming titles that we’re looking forward to/dying to read. It is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine

Synopsis:

Addie is visiting Ireland for her aunt’s over-the-top destination wedding, and hoping she can stop thinking about the one horrible thing she did that left her miserable and heartbroken—and threatens her future. But her brother, Ian, isn’t about to let her forget, and his constant needling leads to arguments and even a fistfight between the two once inseparable siblings. Miserable, Addie can’t wait to visit her friend in Italy and leave her brother—and her problems—behind.

So when Addie discovers an unusual guidebook, Ireland for the Heartbroken, hidden in the dusty shelves of the hotel library, she’s able to finally escape her anxious mind and Ian’s criticism.

And then their travel plans change. Suddenly Addie finds herself on a whirlwind tour of the Emerald Isle, trapped in the world’s smallest vehicle with Ian and his admittedly cute, Irish-accented friend Rowan. As the trio journeys over breathtaking green hills, past countless castles, and through a number of fairy-tale forests, Addie hopes her guidebook will heal not only her broken heart, but also her shattered relationship with her brother.

That is if they don’t get completely lost along the way.

Jenna Evans Welch’s Love & Gelato, is probably one of my favourite travel themed YA novels so I was dying to see what Welch would write next. Turns out Love & Luck is a sort of spin-off of Love & Gelato (the covers even match), as it focuses on Lina’s friend Addie. I’m definitely looking forward to the Lina and Ren appearance as well as Addie’s story which promises a road trip through Ireland as well as some brother and sister bonding which I haven’t seen as much in books. Love & Luck is out in stores on August 29, 2017!

What books are you “waiting” on this week?

Top Ten Tuesdays | Top Ten Best Books of 2016

TTT Continue reading “Top Ten Tuesdays | Top Ten Best Books of 2016”

Book Review | Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley

Authour:flames
Sarah Raughley
Format:
ARC, 353 pages
Publication date:
November 22nd 2016
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
The moment I heard it about a book that was pitched for fans of Sailor Moon, and Avatar in addition to featuring a group of kick butt female leads, I was in and Fate of Flames became probably my most anticipated YA title from Simon and Schuster’s fall catalogue.

Fate of Flames is about four girls who all have control over an element resembling fire, water, or air. What’s intriguing about these girls is that there are always four of them, when one dies, another girl comes into her powers in addition to all the memories of her predecessors. This brings us to our protagonist, Maia whose effigy powers awaken during a lockdown at her school. This causes her to realize that her predecessor, the fire effigy has Natalya has died. She is at that point quickly thrust into the world of the effigies and fighting phantoms.

What I enjoyed about Fate of Flames was that it incorporated modern elements in a fantasy/science fiction story. Social media is a major element in the story, as are online forums which Maia tends to go on even before she became an effigy. I also liked the fact that Maia existed as a fangirl before she became an effigy as it makes this more relatable. Interestingly enough, I think the book took a realistic approach to how someone who is a fangirl transition into become one of the “heroes” they looked up to. Maia is definitely out her comfort zone, and it was refreshing to have a protagonist who doesn’t just easily adapt into her new powers and her role as a fighter, especially since it’s clear that Maia did not have any pre-existing badass attributes or abilities. Unfortunately, not much happens in Fate of Flames, the reader is thrown a great deal of history/backstory and information with little explanation. Furthermore, there isn’t much fighting until the near the conclusion of this book. Maia, the protagonist is incredibly useless for the majority of the book and instead her role is relegated to gathering the other effigies. Once the four girls, Belle, Lake and Chae Rin are gathered that’s when the story proceeds to move forward.

Overall as a first book in a trilogy, I’d consider Fate of Flames to be a decent read. I just hope all the hints, back stories, and mysteries lead up to a thrilling and satisfying story. My interest is definitely piqued, at least for book two which I hope will focus more on the girls learning to work more effectively as a team. Fate of Flames is a book for those who desire a female group focused fantasy novel that is refreshingly light on the romance.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Book Review | Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

lovegelatoAuthour:
Jenna Evans Welch
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 386 pages
Publication date:
April 12th 2016
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
My conundrum when it comes to YA novels remains that I have yet to find several novels featuring travel that I have come to adore. However, Jenna Evans Welch’s Love & Gelato was one of the rare few that met my expectations.

Love & Gelato is the story of 16 year old Lina whose mother has just passed away, as per her mom’s dying wish she is sent to spend the summer in Italy in order to be acquainted her father. To make matters worse, when she arrives she find out her father lives near a graveyard where he’s the superintendent. However, things improve when she is given her mom’s journal. This leads her on an adventure with her friend, Ren as they discover an entire other side to Florence in addition to a few new things concerning Lina’s mother.

The writing throughout Love & Gelato is simplistic yet amusing and entertaining, incredibly relatable. I loved the usage of journal entries to tell Lina mom’s story as you get to read the entries with Lina. The best part of having the story set in Florence, Italy were the numerous descriptions of marvellous food on top of the sights and sounds from one of the places that I have always wanted to visit. The entire time it felt akin to essentially being there in person and experiencing all the things alongside Lina.

As with the majority YA novels, there is romance to go along with the travel. To be honest, I wasn’t as invested in Lina’s romantic adventures. However, I stayed incredibly intrigued in the romance and love aspect of Lina’s mom, Hadley since it’s a major plot point to the central story. And even though we are familiar with how Hadley’s story ends at the start of the novel, it remained still a more compelling story than Lina’s story. Overall, Love & Gelato featured an incredibly charming cast of characters and a story about all types of love that gradually grew on me. And if possible I would love to read a continuation of Lina’s adventures and misadventures in Italy.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Book Review | The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin

yearfellaprtAuthour:
Emily Martin
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 314 pages
Publication date:
January 26th 2016
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
What drew me to The Year We Fell Apart was the premise. I’m a major fan of the friendship turn romance trope and the synopsis of The Year We Fell Apart promised a story that remained more than just a fluffy read. However it was much more than the story that made me fall in love with this book. First and foremost, the prose in the book was gorgeous and filed with much emotion that you can almost feel exactly what Harper is feeling both in the present and in the flashbacks. It’s as if you’re right there feeling her confusion, hurt, anger and frustration as she comes to terms with her situation and moves on from her past mistakes.

Starting this book, I felt it would be a major tear-jerker however fortunately it wasn’t. It however was full of heartbreaking moments as both Declan and Harper have been deeply wounded emotionally both by each other and by their family situations. I enjoyed the flashbacks and the reveal to why they fell apart since it made me root for them even more in the present to hurry and find their way back to each other.

Another element of the book that I enjoyed was the authentic portrayal of other non-romantic relationships. I liked how it showed that Harper and her brother both had their own way of dealing with their mom being sick. I can definitely relate as my siblings and I have been in a similar situation with our father and though we are all siblings we dealt with it all in extremely different manners. Additionally, I love the character of Cory as he’s an excellent friend to Harper especially. I believe it’s realistic that he knows he can’t stop Harper from her self-destructive ways nevertheless it’s nice that he was only a phone call away and when it came down to it he was there to pick up the pieces and/or provide her a ride home so that she made it home safely. At times it’s the little things you do for your friends that make all the difference, you don’t need to be a “hero” who saves them or their “parent” who tells them what they can and can’t do you just need to be there for them. And I reason this book captures this idea beautifully not just with Harper and her friend Cory but also with her and her brother.

Set against a tragic backdrop of death and heartbreak, The Year We Fell Apart remains a story that made me smile at the little heart touching moments and left me with an even greater smile every time I put it down. And I highly recommend it to all you contemporary YA lovers out there.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.