Book Review | Fate of Flames by Sarah Raughley

Authour:flames
Sarah Raughley
Format:
ARC, 353 pages
Publication date:
November 22nd 2016
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
The moment I heard it about a book that was pitched for fans of Sailor Moon, and Avatar in addition to featuring a group of kick butt female leads, I was in and Fate of Flames became probably my most anticipated YA title from Simon and Schuster’s fall catalogue.

Fate of Flames is about four girls who all have control over an element resembling fire, water, or air. What’s intriguing about these girls is that there are always four of them, when one dies, another girl comes into her powers in addition to all the memories of her predecessors. This brings us to our protagonist, Maia whose effigy powers awaken during a lockdown at her school. This causes her to realize that her predecessor, the fire effigy has Natalya has died. She is at that point quickly thrust into the world of the effigies and fighting phantoms.

What I enjoyed about Fate of Flames was that it incorporated modern elements in a fantasy/science fiction story. Social media is a major element in the story, as are online forums which Maia tends to go on even before she became an effigy. I also liked the fact that Maia existed as a fangirl before she became an effigy as it makes this more relatable. Interestingly enough, I think the book took a realistic approach to how someone who is a fangirl transition into become one of the “heroes” they looked up to. Maia is definitely out her comfort zone, and it was refreshing to have a protagonist who doesn’t just easily adapt into her new powers and her role as a fighter, especially since it’s clear that Maia did not have any pre-existing badass attributes or abilities. Unfortunately, not much happens in Fate of Flames, the reader is thrown a great deal of history/backstory and information with little explanation. Furthermore, there isn’t much fighting until the near the conclusion of this book. Maia, the protagonist is incredibly useless for the majority of the book and instead her role is relegated to gathering the other effigies. Once the four girls, Belle, Lake and Chae Rin are gathered that’s when the story proceeds to move forward.

Overall as a first book in a trilogy, I’d consider Fate of Flames to be a decent read. I just hope all the hints, back stories, and mysteries lead up to a thrilling and satisfying story. My interest is definitely piqued, at least for book two which I hope will focus more on the girls learning to work more effectively as a team. Fate of Flames is a book for those who desire a female group focused fantasy novel that is refreshingly light on the romance.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

[Blog Tour] Book Review | Shimmer by Paula Weston

141e0365-66c4-4323-ba62-4f9e3851ca87

Authour:shimmer
Paula Weston
Format:
Trade paperback, 400 pages
Publication date:
March 8th 2016
Publisher:
Tundra Books
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“The piazza is in chaos. It seethes with more Rephaim than I’ve ever seen in one place: punching, kicking, and wrestling each other with blinding speed.Shouting, swearing, Grunting.” – p. 154

I’m fortunate to once again have the opportunity to be on the blog tour for another book in Paula Weston’s Rephaim series. (I will also be on the blog tour for the final book in the series as well) However, while I absolutely adored both Shadows and Haze I was surprised to find that I was not as enthusiastic when it came to Shimmer. I believe this may have to do with the fact that Gaby and Rafa are separated for the majority of this book and since their dynamic is such a core element of the series it didn’t feel the same. Nevertheless, I did appreciate that this book focused on the twins and the other Rephaim relationships and dynamics. Furthermore, we do learn more about the other players in the conflict, and once again it appears that things are not as the initially appear. All of this makes Shimmer a necessary addition to the Rephaim series.

On a whole other note, it’s been awhile since I read the previous book, Haze that I completely forgot how short the chapters were since it makes for an excellent work commute read. I also loved the chapter titles that they are (usually) appropriate and always hilarious. Shimmer also has one hell of a cliff-hanger ending, as just when things are starting to pick up again the reader is thrown a major curveball. As a result, I am eager to read Burn as soon as possible in order to see where this new development takes our characters. Additionally, I am looking forward to seeing how Paula Weston concludes her Rephaim series. Having invested a great deal in the series that I initially thought wouldn’t be my cup of tea, I am both curious and excited to read the conclusion. Hopefully since all the key players and pieces are now gathered, Burn will be filled with more action and excitement.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.