Frenzy Picks (Spring/Summer 2017 Edition)

picmonkey-collage

 

On Sunday I had the privilege of attending a Frenzy Presents event at the HareprCollins offices. Usually they only have an event in August to showcase their upcoming fall titles so I was really excited that they had one in the spring to showcase their their summer titles as summer usually means more contemporary fiction! Anyways without further delay, here are five titles from all those presented that I’m looking forward to:

Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me by Lily CollinufThe title with the earliest release date from my list (it’s out next week), this is a collection of essays written by the actress Lily Collins whose father is the singer Phil Collins. I’m curious to see what she has to say as she talks about issues like body image, self-confidence, family and dating. Out March 7th, 2017.

Almost Adulting: All You Need to Know to Get It Together (Sort Of) by Arden Rose

aa

 

I was a bit wary about this book, but Suman totally sold me on it! With chapter titles like “Do Tour Laundry or You’ll Die Alone”, it sounds like it will be a hilarious read for those of us who dread “adulting things”. Plus I’m kind of looking forward to her take on topics like fashion, travel and dating. Arden Rose also created a fun book trailer to promote her book, which you can check out here. Can’t wait until this book is in stores next month. Out March 28th, 2017.

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

rb

Ramona Blue is teenaged girl who 6 feet tall (quickly outgrowing her trailer home) with blue hair whose life was forever changed when Hurricane Katrina hit. Though she’s just a teenager, she finds herself juggling multiple jobs to help her family afloat.

While I wasn’t in love with Dumplin’ like so many of my fellow bloggers, I did enjoy Side Effects May Vary. Based on the synopsis I was intrigued to pick up Ramona Blue as it not only examines the complexities of sexual orientation but also addresses other issues like family, sisterhood, poverty and race. Fortunately, everyone who attended the Frenzy Presents event was gifted with an ARC which I almost immediately started to read and so far am enjoying. Out May 9th, 2017.

Midnight at the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson
me

A book that doesn’t fit into just one genre, this book follows three different girls from three different places and time periods. Interestingly enough, there is a heartbreaking connection between the three girls although I was also promised that it would be a hopeful book as well. This premise had me curious and I was lucky enough to get an ARC of it at the event. Out June 13th, 2017.

I See London, I See France by Sarah Mlynowski

londonfrance

The latest book from Canadian authour, Sarah Mlynowski this book promises to be the perfect vacation read. As you guys may (or may not) know, I’m a huge fan of books that have travel in it and if I were to be honest this was probably my most anticipated title from the list presented. I See London, I See France best friends Sydney and Leela as they travel all over Europe together after Leela’s boyfriend cheats on her and she decides to take Sydney on their trip. Unfortunately, Leela’s ex-boyfriend also ends up going on the trip and along with his best friend, there’s bound to be a ton of drama. I got an ARC of this book as part of my gift bag so if you guys are interested in seeing my review of this one let me know. Out July 11, 2017.

So what spring/summer HarperCollins titles are you guys eagerly anticipating? Feel free to chime in below!

Leave a Reply

