Top Ten Tuesdays | Top Ten Best Books of 2016

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Best Books I Read in 2016 (in no particular order)

1. The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem by Sarit Yishai-Levi; Translated Anthony Berris

beautyqueen

This book was actually the first book I finished in 2016, and I absolutely love it! The book does a really good job of showing just how complex, and dysfunctional the relationships between mothers and daughters can be. I hope more of Sarit Yishai-Levi’s work gets translated into English so that I can read more from her.

2. The Couturier of Milan (Ava Lee #9) by Ian Hamilton

milan

As always Ava Lee doesn’t let me down. This latest instalment in the Ava Lee series is out in 2017, but I was fortunate enough to receive an early copy (ARC) for review. Another thrilling addition to the series and other book where Ava Lee is as badass as she usually is.

3. Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

geek

This was a book that I was super excited for, and I’m so glad that it wasn’t a letdown! If you’re looks for a diverse, geeky, fandom romance with awesome friendships this is THE book you should be reading.

4. How to Make a French Family: A Memoir of Love, Food, and Faux Pas by Samantha Verant

frenchfam

I loved Seven Letters from Paris and was excited to continue Samantha Verant’s story. This book takes place after her fairy-tale wedding, and follows her adventures (and misadventures) as she adjusts to life in a small French town and to her new role as a stepmother. Filled with recipes, this is a book that is definitely full of love and soul!

5. A Great Reckoning (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache #12) by Louise Penny

recokening

I can almost always count on the latest Inspector Ganache book to pull me out of a reading rut. Of all of the books in this series that I’ve read, A Great Reckoning  definitely ranks as one of my favourites. Its full of everything I love about the series, including the “return” of the dynamic duo partnership and a compelling mystery not to mention all the conspiracies and of course love (not necessarily romantic love) in all its complexities. A must read for mystery fans and those who love the Inspector Ganache series.

6. Feminist Fight Club: An Office Survival Manual for a Sexist Workplace by Jessica Bennett

fem

Feminist Fight Club isn’t my typical read per say but as someone who is just starting her professional life I thought that this book would benefit me. Written in a manner accessible even to those who aren’t big on non-fiction, this book is filled with practical advice and helpful tips for the career gal.

7. Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

image5

Before the Penguin Random House Fall Preview I only vaguely heard of Trevor Noah. However Jackie and Evan totally sold me on this book, which is a collection of incredibly well written personal essays. I’d recommend that people do the audiobook version to get the full experience however Noah’s voice can be clearly heard even from the pages of the book.

8. First Comes Love by Emily Giffin

image6

I used to be a huge Emily Giffin fan, and even got one of my high school friends into her books. However, I was not a fan of The One & Only so I was a bit reluctant to pick up her latest novel. Fortunately, I did and was won over once again by her writing. For those of us who have siblings (in particular sisters), this is a story that would resonate with us.

9. A Boy Called Christmas by Matt Haig

image7

2016 has been a rough year for many people so its not hard to see why some of us may have a hard time getting into the holiday spirit. For me A Boy Called Christmas definitely helped me to get into the spirit. I was actually gifted a copy of this book back in July but I decided to hold off on reading it until December. Written in a delightful manner with charming hand drawn  illustrations throughout, this is a holiday read that can be enjoyed by readers of all ages.

10. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

dim

This was a book that got a lot of hype, at least in the circles that I run. And at first I was reluctant to pick it up because it was marketed as an “arranged marriage rom com” however I’m too thankful that I decided to give it a shot. Probably ranking among my top three favourite reads this year, look for my full review in the coming year.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays | Top Ten Best Books of 2016

  1. I don’t know most of this books but Feminist Fight Club sounds really interesting! When Dimple Met Rishi as you said is getting all the hype, I’m intrigued to read it!

Leave a Reply

