Frenzy Five

2016 marked the fifth year anniversary of Frenzy Presents, a YA preview event of upcoming Fall/Winter titles hosted by HarperCollins that usually took place at their offices.  A big shout to all the wonderful staff at HarperCollins who have once again invited me to attend this event for the third (and I hope not the last) time. As always there were lots of book bloggers, awesome treats, and of course tons of books. Of the titles discussed during the presentation, the following five are the ones that I most looking forward to:

1. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

image

The protagonist, Molly has had many crushes but has never been in love (just like high school me). When her twin sister, Cassie finds love with her new girlfriend Mina, Molly is slightly jealous that her sister gets to experience something she has yet to experienced. Things suddenly get complicated when Cassie and Mina try to set up Molly with Mina’s friend, Will at the same time that Mina finds herself falling for her nerdy co-worker, Reid. The Upside of Unrequited  is probably my most anticipated title of all the titles that were discussed during this year’s Frenzy Presents. I love a good contemporary YA novel and this one sounds right up my alley, too bad I will have to wait until April 11th 2017 to read it, though I’m sure it will be worth the wait.

2. Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

3crowns

Okay, normally I don’t do fantasy but this one has me intrigued (and it comes highly recommended by Suman). Three Dark Crowns follows three sisters who are triplets and all have equal claim to the throne. Separated at birth, on their 16th birthday the three sisters will be forced to battle each other (until the death?) with the victor becoming the next queen. Unfortunately of the three sisters, only one of them truly has a handle on their powers…Releasing on  September 20, this is one book that I’m looking forward to audiobook.

3. The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

image

My first introduction to Canadian authour, Lesley Livingston was her Never series, so her latest book has me excited. I’ve always been into ancient history, and this book is set during Ancient Rome where gladiators roamed. Additionally it features a badass female which I just love. For those of you who are fans of Roman history, The Valiant comes out on February 14th 2017.

4. The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

1000th

Apparently The Thousandth Floor starts with a character falling off the tower, but readers won’t know who it is until the end. I was fortunate enough to be gifted an ARC at the Indigo YA Fall Preview, and I’m looking forward to starting this at some point. Jessica at The Papertraildiary was the presenter for this title at Frenzy Presents and has told me that the story is REALLY good. For those of you who were not able to get an early copy, fret not as this tale of high stakes, drama, and gossip comes out on August 30!

5. Every Hidden Thing by Kenneth Oppel

image

On the invitation for Frenzy Presents this year, we were told that there would be two special guests. One was M-E Girard, the authour of Girl Mans Up and the other was Kenneth Oppel who talked about his new book, Every Hidden Thing. Described as “Romeo and Juliet meets Indiana Jones”, the book follows the children of two rivaling paleontologists (whose relationship is based off of the real life rivalry of paleontologists, Cope and Marsh). After falling in love and realizing that their fathers are nuts the two run away and elope before setting off on an adventure to find “the Rex”. This one is out on September 20th.

So, what are you guys looking forward to this coming fall and winter? Comment below with what titles you can’t wait to read.

2 thoughts on “Frenzy Five

  1. Loved the post and your recs. I might just get Three Dark Crowns now. My most anticipated Winter Release is Windwitch by Susan Dennard and a very close second is The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova. They are coming out on the 3rd and 10th of January and they are all I can think about 🙂

    1. Thank you! And oh my god, so lucky!! I read the excerpt and am dying for September 20th to come so I can find out what happens next! I’m not really into fantasy but your anticipated winter books sound interesting.

Leave a Reply

