Top Ten Tuesdays | Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases So Far This Year (in no particular order)

1. The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem by Sarit Yishai-Levi; Translated Anthony Berris

beautyqueen

Having read this book as an e-galley, I loved how it portrayal dysfunctional relationships between mother and daughters.

2. The Princeling of Nanjing (Ava Lee #8) by Ian Hamilton

princeling

Action packed and thrilling, this latest installment in the Ava Lee series is a great addition to the series.

3. Lady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1) by Cassandra Clare

lady midnight

Okay I’ll admit that I’ve never been a Cassandra Clare fan so I was surprised that I really enjoy Lady Midnight. I adored the Emma and Julian as well as Mark and Cristina. The prose was gorgeous and the dialogue was witty and hilarious at times. There were also alot of kick butt and swoony scenes. And while I’m terrified as to what will happen in the next book, I definitely will be picking up Lord of Shadows.

4. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

unexpected

I love YA Contemporary as a genre, yet until The Unexpected Everything Morgan Matson’s books have never been my cup of tea. Still, I’m glad I gave The Unexpected Everything  a chance as I LOVED how friendships were portrayed in this book as well as the father daughter relationship in the book, something that we don’t see too much of in YA.

5. Burn by Paula Weston

burn

After like three years, we finally get the answers we’ve been seeking. Often series finales can be a let down, but Burn managed to provide a satisfying conclusion with enough loose ends for a spin off.

6. All the Single Ladies: Unmarried Women and the Rise of an Independent Nation by Rebecca Traister

singleladies

I’ve been constantly searching for a book that perfectly captures the single person experience and this book did the job. (granted I didn’t actually read it, rather I listened to the audiobook of it) Anyways, I loved how we get to see so many different types of women with varied experiences, and how in the end we find out that someone of them are still single by choice and remain happily so.

7. Stars Above (The Lunar Chronicles #4.5) by Marissa Meyer

starsabove

Okay this one is a given considering my love for Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles series. And yes I will confess that when I finally got a copy of this book (thank you, Christine) I immediately skipped to the epilogue and yes it was soooo worth it (although I do wish we could have seen more a certain couple) however Stars Above had so much more to offer in addition to the epilogue and the short stories that had been previously released as there are a couple of other new short stories. Thus if you’re a fan of the series and were dying for more of your favourite characters after Winter, then this book is a must buy for your personal library!

8. Pen & Palate: Mastering the Art of Adulthood, with Recipes by Lucy Madison and Tram Nguyen

pens

A collection of some of the illustrations and blog post from the Pen & Palates blog, this book really spoke to me because I could relate to so much of the stories of both girls.

9. When We Collided by Emery Lord

collided

 

I love Emery Lord books, and this one was no exception. Though slightly different from her previous two books, this one is just as poignant and beautiful.

10. Mother, Can You Not? by Kate Siegel

mothercannot

Another book that I audiobooked. This one’s perfect for those of us who are super tight with out moms to the point where others may think the relationships with have with our moms are slightly crazy and dysfunctional.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays | Top Ten Favorite 2016 Releases

  1. I’ve never read anything by Cassandra Claire but the cover and synopsis of Lady Midnight really makes me want to read it 🙂 and I keep seeing The Unexpected Everything, the cover has DOGS so I’m surprised I haven’t read it yet xD I keep hearing good things!

  2. I really like the sound of Mother, Can You Not? Sounds like an awesome read, haha! I actually recently finished the Lunar Chronicles (FINALLY) so I’ve been peeking at Fairest and Stars Above. I think I’ll read Fairest first, because I love villains and I’m really interested to see what made Levana this way.

    How good was When We Collided? I absolutely loved it.

  3. I hadn’t heard of The Beauty Queen of Jerusalem before, but the image looks just like one I use as a reference for one of my characters. I LOVED Lady Midnight too!

  4. You’ve read some great sounding books so far this year. I haven’t read on your list, I’m afraid. But not for lack of wanting to. I am eager to start the Lunar Chronicles this fall. I haven’t yet read any in the series, but I’ve been wanting to try it for awhile now. I’ve heard such great things about When We Collided. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

