Book Review | The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

unexpectedAuthour:
Morgan Matson
Format:
ARC, 519 pages
Publication date:
June 2nd 2016
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
To be honest, I feel as if I’m one of the rare few that am not obsessed with SYBG that coupled with the length of The Unexpected Everything made me reluctant to pick it up. However, after reading a gushing review of The Unexpected Everything from Tiff at Mostly YA Lit I started reconsidering my decision to pick up the latest Morgan Matson book.

Andie is a girl who is used to being in control and planning out everything, however as the title hints, things don’t go according to her plans for the summer. Instead, in The Unexpected Everything she is forced to re-evaluate how she’s always lived her life which leads to numerous changes that “unexpectedly” cause her to realize who she truly is and what she’s always wanted.

What I adored in The Unexpected Everything is the portrayal of friendships, especially female friendships in this book. My favourite aspect of this novel were the scenes that featured Andie and her friends either hanging out or texting each other. And while there is some drama in the novel, I appreciated how it was handled in an authentic manner, even if it means no simple happy ending. Another thing I loved with regards to The Unexpected Everything is the father-daughter relationship which we don’t see that often in YA novels. The entire portrayal felt extremely true to life, as both are initially awkward around each other, and unclear as to what their roles are since Andie’s father has been mostly occupied with his work as a congressman. However, slowly they are able to reach a compromise and I appreciated how Andie’s father allowed her to negotiate with him as a way to continue to provide her with some freedom.

All that being said, I wasn’t too fond of the romance in The Unexpected Everything. Although, I will admit that Clark had his adorable moments and I did delight in seeing how he helped Andie slowly get out of her comfort zone. Also I’m always up for a good bromance, and loved that he and Tom (the boyfriend of one of Andie’s best friends) bonded over shared interests and the fact that Clark is one of Tom’s favourite authours.

Overall, The Unexpected Everything is a book that I highly recommend to anyone in need of an excellent summer read. In fact, it has left me wanting more from Morgan Matson. In fact, given how her story concluded, I would love a novel with Toby as the protagonist, as I would love for her to have her’ own happy ending and finally find the “cure” to her “curse”.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

4 thoughts on “Book Review | The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

  1. I really want to read this but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the romance—I’ve seen a couple of people say that. Thanks for the review!

  2. I’m glad you liked this one! My only problem with The Unexpected Everything was the romance between Clark and Andie, too – it just didn’t feel real to me. If you liked Matson, I highly suggest Since You’ve Been Gone, as the relationship between Frank and Emily is absolutely adorable 🙂

Leave a Reply

