TeensRead Fall 2016 Preview

unnamed

It’s been a long time since I’ve had the opportunity to attend a publisher event, and I was really looking forward to seeing everyone again. What I didn’t account for was my work team having an outing the day before and me not getting home until 1:30 AM on the day of the preview. Needless to say I was extremely tired, but still excited to get to the event.

For those of us in Toronto, we had our own event at Deer Park Library where we all sat together and watched a live stream via Google Hangouts of the actual event that was taking place in Vancouver. While the event in Vancouver was hosted by Melissa from Raincoast Books, (with special guest, Eileen Cook, who wrote With Malice) the Toronto event was hosted by Jenn (aka @lostingreatbook) and Jenny from Ampersand Inc. who provided us with lots of yummy treats and a swag bag.

Photo credit: @ShilpaRaikar
Photo credit: @ShilpaRaikar

Despite some technical issues that made it difficult to hear the stream, it was still a yummy snack filled and fun event as we rarely get to see so many book bloggers gathered together in one room.

Of the countless fall titles that were previewed at the event I thought I’d highlight six that I’m eagerly anticipating. Interesting fact, Raincoast announced at the preview that they will now be distributing Bloomsbury titles starting August which has me super excited as some of my favourite YA titles are from them (like Emery Lord’s books) Anyways, in no particular order, they are:

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter

vassa

A modern adaptation of the Russian fairy tale, “Vasilisa the Beautiful“, but set in the kingdom of Brooklyn. Vassa lives with her stepmother and stepsisters in a working class neighbourhood where there is dark magic lurking about. So when she is sent to get light bulbs in the middle of night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission. Fortunately she has help from Erg, a tough wooden doll with sticky fingers, and together the two may finally be able to break the witch’s curse. Also if that doesn’t intrigued you, I should mention that it’s also blurbed by Leigh Bardugo!

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

crooked kingdom

Speaking of which, in case you don’t already know I adored Six of Crows and the sequel is definitely high of my most anticipated fall releases. While the synopsis has me slightly worried for the characters I love so much, I’m still incredibly curious as to what will become of them also I’m intrigued because I heard that Crooked Kingdom will focus on cons more than heists. And of course I’m definitely looking forward to seeing more of my beloved ships.

Other-Wordly written by Yee-Lum Mak and illustrated by Kelsey Garrity-Riley

other word

One of the posters included in the swag bag featured illustrations from this book which are gorgeous! I love languages and learning new words, and that paired with such beautiful illustrations makes this one a must pick up!

 This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills

adventure

 I received an ARC of this title in my swag bag, in fact many of the other book bloggers in attendance also received an ARC. To be honest the synopsis didn’t appeal to me, but I was in the mood for a contemporary novel and I had a long commute home so I decided to give it a try. And to my surprise I found that I enjoyed (and am still enjoying it immensely). Sloane has just moved from New York to Florida, and unexpectedly she gets involved with twins Vera, a social media star and her brother Gabe. I’m still reading it at the moment but I have to say I am really enjoying the portrayals of complex relationships, both familial and friendships. This is definitely one YA contemporary read you’ll want to be on the lookout for.

We are all Tornadoes by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen

We are all Tornadoes

Another contemporary YA novel, this one is set in the 1980s and is a series of letters back and forth between two characters who are best friends. I’m looking forward to a coming of age story and I’m hoping that there will be a bit of romance in it too! This one was a title that the Raincoast staff recommended for those who are fans of Rainbow Rowell.

Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

ever

Ever the Hunted has been on my radar for quite some time now, in fact I already tried requesting it on Netgalley so here’s to hoping I am able to get approved. The synopsis promises murder, magic, and dangerous quests as well as a kick butt heroine so I’m definitely game.

So, how about you guys? Any of these titles appeal to you? What are some fall titles that you guys are anticipating?

5 thoughts on “TeensRead Fall 2016 Preview

Leave a Reply

