Book Review | The Society by Jodie Andrefski

thesocietyAuthour:
Jodie Andrefski
Format:
E-galley
Publication date:
May 3rd 2016
Publisher:
Entangled Teen
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
I love a thrilling revenge story, however Jodie Andrefski’s The Society was much more than a revenge story. In fact, if I were to be honest the “revenge” aspect of the story is only a minor portion albeit a major theme of the story.

Samantha Evans was living what she thought was the ideal life, when her father is suddenly arrested for insider trading. As a result, her “best friend” ditches her, her mother flees and Sam is left to live with her aunt in a trailer park. What I enjoyed about The Society was how realistic it was in depicting bullying in schools, and while how victims may desire to get back at their attackers revenge may not necessarily be the solution. While, Sam essentially goes through with her plans she feels guilty regarding her actions for the majority of the time which often leaves her conflicted and confused. I found this to be realistic since in reality a person is able to complete some type of special revenge training where they learn to turn off their emotions and stuff. Revenge in real life involves real people, and things aren’t always black and white which means things can become messy.

Regardless, I did wish that there was a greater focus on the scheming and the revenge aspect of the story rather than the subplot involving the mysterious guy, Ransom. To be honest, I was getting a bad vibe from him, and felt a bit let down when nothing came of the subplot. That being understood, my favourite element of The Society was the relationship between Jeremy and Samantha which was slowly developing from best friends into something more. I adored the dynamic that the two have and was rooting for them to become a couple the entire time. I also adore how Samantha slowly came to accept her life as it is and appreciate the family, she does have, in her aunt and not the family she “lacks” at the moment.

The Society is a novel that I would suggest if you’re looking for more of an incredibly fast paced story concerning high school cliques, bullying and its consequences.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | The Society by Jodie Andrefski

  1. Bullying and cliques make me a bit uncomfortable even now that I’m no longer a teenager… but this does sound interesting! I appreciate that it’s realistic in the bullying department, as well as in other aspects. I might give this a go at some point πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

