Book Review | Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

lovegelatoAuthour:
Jenna Evans Welch
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 386 pages
Publication date:
April 12th 2016
Publisher:
Simon Pulse
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
My conundrum when it comes to YA novels remains that I have yet to find several novels featuring travel that I have come to adore. However, Jenna Evans Welch’s Love & Gelato was one of the rare few that met my expectations.

Love & Gelato is the story of 16 year old Lina whose mother has just passed away, as per her mom’s dying wish she is sent to spend the summer in Italy in order to be acquainted her father. To make matters worse, when she arrives she find out her father lives near a graveyard where he’s the superintendent. However, things improve when she is given her mom’s journal. This leads her on an adventure with her friend, Ren as they discover an entire other side to Florence in addition to a few new things concerning Lina’s mother.

The writing throughout Love & Gelato is simplistic yet amusing and entertaining, incredibly relatable. I loved the usage of journal entries to tell Lina mom’s story as you get to read the entries with Lina. The best part of having the story set in Florence, Italy were the numerous descriptions of marvellous food on top of the sights and sounds from one of the places that I have always wanted to visit. The entire time it felt akin to essentially being there in person and experiencing all the things alongside Lina.

As with the majority YA novels, there is romance to go along with the travel. To be honest, I wasn’t as invested in Lina’s romantic adventures. However, I stayed incredibly intrigued in the romance and love aspect of Lina’s mom, Hadley since it’s a major plot point to the central story. And even though we are familiar with how Hadley’s story ends at the start of the novel, it remained still a more compelling story than Lina’s story. Overall, Love & Gelato featured an incredibly charming cast of characters and a story about all types of love that gradually grew on me. And if possible I would love to read a continuation of Lina’s adventures and misadventures in Italy.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

5 thoughts on “Book Review | Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

  1. I’m glad you really enjoyed this! I did not expect for there to be a more emotional backstory behind the whole Italy trip, and because of that, I feel like I would really enjoy the novel! Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

