Book Review | Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

revengeAuthour:
Michelle Modesto
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 373 pages
Publication date:
February 2nd 2016
Publisher:
Balzer + Bray
Publisher Social Media:
Twitter/Facebook/SavvyReader/Frenzy
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

I’ve mentioned it before and I’ll say it again, I love a thrilling, revenge story. Oddly enough for a book with the word “revenge” in it, there wasn’t much happening revenge wise for the majority of Revenge and the Wild. Although the “revenge” element does come more into play later on in the book. Nevertheless, it remained a story that had numerous other compelling elements to it.

One of the intriguing aspects of Revenge and the Wild was how the author managed to quite seamlessly weaved together a traditional western setting with supernatural and steam punk elements. All within Revenge and the Wild, we have vampires, ogres, cowboys, Indians and cyborgs…of sorts. It also features a badass protagonist in the form of Westie, who’s in possession of a mechanical arm that makes for an awesome weapon. Why does Westie have a mechanical arm? Well it’s to replace her real arm that was lost along with her family to cannibals. Yes, that’s right there cannibals exist in this book and if you’re the squeamish type then you might not want to pick up this book as it can get quite graphic.

Along with its unique setting Revenge and the Wild was a compelling story as it addressed issues similar to family, addiction and moving on from your past. I particularly loved the relationship dynamics between Westie and Alistair. The only thing I felt the book lacked were positive female relationships as I felt the only healthy interaction Westie truly had, was with Bena who was the one who saved her a long time ago. Sure Westie was foul-mouthed and tough and at times unpleasant however it would’ve been wonderful for her have other friends that weren’t attracted to her or that weren’t part of her “family”.

Anyways, I’m glad I got the opportunity to read and review Revenge and the Wild, as it was one of the winter 2016 titles from Harper that I was eagerly anticipating. Overall, it remained an entertaining read and if you’re looking for something a bit unusual and unique then this one might be up your alley.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

10 thoughts on “Book Review | Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

  1. Great review! This one was actually a DNF for me. 😦 I know, horrible, right? I think I may be a little burnt out from YA fantasy, so I am going to revisit the ones I had to put down. I don’t know if you are like me, but I am a mood reader, so if I am not in the mood for that type of book, I have a hard time getting into it.

    1. Thanks for commenting! And yeah this book was also kind of weird. Also yes I’m definitely a mood reader, sometimes I find it helps to just read whatever review book I’m in the mood for if I don’t have any that are coming out soon. Also if I really have to read a book, I’ll try to balance it with another book I love to motivate myself to not DNF it.

  2. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Revenge and the Wild, but I still haven’t decided on it yet. In a way I want to read it, but I feel like something is holding me back. It might be the steampunk… I’ve never read steampunk, and I get very scared of it. I don’t know why.

    Wonderful review. You answered a few of my questions, and now I know a bit more about the book, and feel a little better about borrowing it from the library.

Leave a Reply

