Early Book Review | Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

seefirstAuthour:
Eric Lindstrom
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 310 pages
Publication date:
December 1st 2015
Publisher:
Poppy
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Here’s something that you may not know about me. Sometimes when I am stuck and unsure what to read following my previous book, I turn to one of the people who knows me best to decide for me. And that person is my best friend in real life, a person who also helps greatly with the behind the scenes stuff for this blog. Not if I See You First was a title that I requested for review based on the suggestion of my best friend, who knows that if she leads me wrong she will be forced to listen to me complain about the book. Fortunately, this was not the case with this book as I ended up enjoying it quite a bit.

Not if I See You First follows the story of Parker Grant, who following an accident that killed her mom is left blind. However, she makes it clear throughout the book that while she may be blind she should not be treated differently and she should definitely not be pitied. One of my favourite things about Parker is just how snarky she is to every person around her, she has no problem telling people off and she owns the fact that she while she is blind, she is also probably smarter than the majority of the people in her school. There are various aspects of Parker’s personality that I could relate to as we share similar views regarding trust and betrayal. Additionally her friendship with Sarah is reminiscent of my friendship with my best friend in real life.

Lately, I’ve noticed that there has been a greater attempt to have more diverse YA novels as such there have also been numerous books featuring a protagonist with a disability. Not if I See You First is an excellent addition to this trend, as illustrates how commonly held stereotypes of all types of people can be wrong. Overall Not if I See You First was a quick read that I’d recommend for those who’d want a little something different when it comes to their YA contemporary reads.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

