Book Review | Signs Point to Yes by Sandy Hall

signsyesAuthour:
Sandy Hall
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 267 pages
Publication date:
October 20th, 2015
Publisher:
Swoonreads
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Picked up Signs Point to Yes, one summer day when feeling down and it definitely cheered me up. Signs Point to Yes is Sandy Hall’s second book; her debut novel was A Little Something Different which was a sugary, sweet and hilarious novel featuring a love story that is shows us the point of views of every character except the two major characters. In Signs Point to Yes, Hall uses a traditional storytelling tool by telling the story from an omniscient third person narrator who follows the two central characters in addition to the sister of one of the key characters.

Personally, I found Signs Point to Yes to be more enjoyable than A Little Something Different since there were less characters and perspectives to deal with. Additionally I loved that Jane and Teo in fact spend time with each other, and become acquainted with each other first. As a result, I found that I was truly rooting for them to be a couple early on unlike the eventual couple in A Little Something Different. I also adored the sibling dynamic between Jane and her sister, Margo as it is reminiscent of the relationship that I have with my own sister. The only things I disliked were first, the reveal of why Ravi, Teo’s best friend despised Jane. There was such a build up to it, however once the reason behind his strong dislike of Jane was unveiled I found myself feeling disappointed. Without spoiling anything, I ought to say that Ravi’s reason for disliking Jane came across as rather juvenile considering how long he’s held onto that for. The second thing I wasn’t fond of was how, despite Signs Point to Yes, having alternating perspectives; there is no indication as to whose chapter it is at the start of each chapter. It’s not until you read a couple of sentences that you are able to figure out whose perspective we are seeing things from. However, this may only be evident in the ARC and maybe there will be some type of indicator in the final copy?

Anyways, Signs Point to Yes was another entertaining read from Sandy Hall and I look forward to reading more from this authour. Also, I wouldn’t object if she were to write a sequel to Signs Point to Yes as I would love to know what happens next with Margo, Jane and Teo.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

