Book Review | Poles Apart by Terry Fallis

polesapartAuthour:
Terry Fallis
Format:
Advance Reader Copy
Publication date:
October 20th 2015
Publisher:
Douglas Gibson Books
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
I’ve always considered myself to be a feminist, and after hearing that Terry Fallis’ fifth novel features a feminist blogger, I attempted to acquire an early copy of his book to read and review for this blog. Fortunately the Fourth Annual Ontario Book Blogger Meet granted me the opportunity to pick up an advance reader of Poles Apart which I promptly started almost immediately after I had it in my possession.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with Terry Fallis, he’s a Canadian writer who is known for his hilarious novels. In his latest novel, Poles Apart he tells a different type of tale as we follow Everett Kane an aspiring writer who ends up creating the feminist blog, Eve of Equality that becomes viral. As a fellow blogger, I loved that I could relate to several of the tools and strategies that Everett employs as he creates and maintains his blog. (With the exception of my blog becoming viral) Additionally, I discovered several useful tips for bloggers that I was unaware of before reading Poles Apart. Furthermore, while I was unable to connect to most of the characters in the book I did enjoy the character development that Everett’s dad undergoes though the course of the novel.

Overall, Poles Apart touches upon an extremely vital issue which is how men can also participate in the fight for equality between sexes. And I believe Terry Fallis illustrates this point brilliantly in the character of Everett “Eve” Kane as one of the reasons that Eve refuses to come forward as the creator of the feminist blog is that he doesn’t believe he’ll be accepted and he doesn’t feel that as a man he should be the face of feminism. However, in the conclusion the novel does an excellent job of showing how everybody can be a part of the fight for women’s rights. Thus, while I cannot say that Poles Apart is my favourite Terry Fallis novel (that title still belongs to No Relations) I can however say that it is a cleverly written and entertaining novel that is absolutely worth checking out.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Poles Apart by Terry Fallis

  1. I’ve heard really great things about Terry Fallis and have yet to read anything, but this book definitely sounds interesting. I love the touchy subject of feminism (touchy in the sense that it creates a lot of back and forth conversation, anyway) and I think this sounds like an interesting concept. I’ll have to check it out, thanks for the intro! – ashley

    1. No problem, glad I could introduce Terry Fallis to you. Though if I were to make one suggestion, I’d suggest you start with either The Best Laid Plans, Up and Down or No Relations first as those books are better as starters on my opinion. Also thanks for commenting on my review!

Leave a Reply

