Book Review | Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

sixofcrowsAuthour:
Leigh Bardugo
Format:
E-galley
Publication date:
September 29th 2015
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Company
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
The decision to pick up Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows in the summer came after I found myself reading loads of contemporary fiction. I felt that I needed something “different” and “different” was what I ended up getting.

While Six of Crows is set in the same world as Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy you do not need to have read her previous series to enjoy this one since I never read any of her books before Six of Crows nevertheless I still loved Six of Crows. The premise of this book gives us the point of views of various characters, though it focuses on a crew of six characters lead by the enigmatic, Kaz who is the leader of a major street gang called “the Dregs”. Each character has their own tragic back story, and in particular I thoroughly enjoyed getting acquainted with Inej, Nina, Matthias on top of learning more about Kaz and his motivations. And while I’m generally not a fan of the fantasy genre, I’m a sucker for books that contain a heist of some sort and a team where the members have a complicated but entertaining dynamic and rapport that works for them. That being said, my favourite aspect of Six of Crows was all the ships in the book. I love how there were no love triangles in the book since all the characters were all broken and had plenty of issues beforehand.

I don’t often say this, however in my opinion Six of Crows warranted all the hype it received. You just need a bit of patience at the beginning, since it initially starts off a bit slow, and it wasn’t until a few chapters in that the story started to pick up for me. However, once it did pick up it quickly became an extremely thrilling, that kept me on the wanting to turn pages to read what happens next. My only complaint now after finishing the book is that I must to wait another full year for the second and final book in this duology

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

