Book Review | Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

whynotAuthour:
Mindy Kaling
Format:
Hardcover, 228 pages
Publication date:
September 15th 2015
Publisher:
Crown Archetype
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“If you’ve got it, flaunt it. And if you don’t? Flaunt it. Cause what are we doing here if we’re not flaunting it?.” (p. 202)

For her first book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and Other Concerns) I listened to the audio book version since Mindy read her own book and I enjoyed it immensely. Fortunately for her latest book, Why Not Me? I was able to obtain an early hardcover copy for review. In reality, a bunch of other Canadian book bloggers also received a review copy at the same time therefore we all pretty much read it at the same time was fun to witness. Additionally, I should also mention that the interior and exterior design of the finished copy is absolutely adorable and gorgeous.

Anyways, in her latest book, Why Not Me? Mindy picks up from Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (and Other Concerns) with new essays regarding recent events and happenings in her life, as well as topics that are more relevant to her now. What made me ecstatic about receiving a copy of Why Not Me? for review was an excerpt of her book that contained the essay on confidence. It blew me away, and as I too am a child of immigrants the takeaway message of the essay was something that I wholeheartedly agree with. In addition to the chapter that has the same name as the book, I also thoroughly enjoyed the chapter titled, “Soup Snakes.” “Soup Snakes” concerns her relationship with fellow actor and writer B.J. Novak. I adored the entire chapter as it granted me insight into their complicated but incredibly touching relationship and it was evident that she truly cares about him as a friend now. If you are looking for something a bit lighter and funnier then you should check out the chapter titled “Mindy Lahiri MD, Everygirl, Mild Sociopath “where Mindy explains the differences between her and her TV character from The Mindy Project in addition as the similarities between the two.

Why Not Me? is a must read for fans of both The Mindy Project in addition to those who are fans of Mindy Kaling herself. It’s a quick and entertaining read that is extremely well-written. In fact, even though it’s not an audio book I found that I could almost hear her voice talking to me as I read the book which in itself is quite amusing. In the end, there truly is something that can appeal to everybody in her latest collection of essays.

If you like this book, you’ll love: I Can’t Believe It’s Not Better by Monica Heisey 

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

One thought on “Book Review | Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

Leave a Reply

