Book Review | The Book of Wanderings: A Mother-Daughter Pilgrimage by Kimberly Meyer

wanderingsAuthour:
Kimberly Meyer
Format:
Hardcover, 354 pages
Publication date:
March 24th 2015
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“Some say we are all pilgrims. Pilgrims, from the Latin peregriniper, ‘through’; ager, ‘field, land, country.’ We’re wanderers and strangers, foreigners, aliens, exiles. We’re on a journey, trying to return to some spiritual home.” (p. 13)

What initially drew me to this book was the fact that it was a story concerning a mother and daughter, together in several of the places that I have always wanted to visit, in addition to one country that I in reality lived in at one point in my life. What I did not expect was the major role that religion would play in the book, though I did have an inkling of it since the book is called The Book of Wanderings.

Coming into The Book of Wanderings, I thought it would focus more on the mother-daughter bonding on top of their travel experiences. Instead, we receive a much deeper story that includes all of what I was expected in addition to discussions regarding philosophy, history, faith and spirituality. And while we do discover more about both Kimberly and her daughter as individuals, we don’t get to view them interacting with each as much as I thought which left me feeling slightly disappointed.

Thus for me, this book was a bit of a mixed bag. Several parts I found extremely compelling and I flew through those sections such as the time they spent in Israel. This was probably due to the fact that those sections made me feel nostalgic for the time I spent living in Israel, and I was curious to observe their impressions of places that I have visited myself. Meanwhile other sections felt a bit long winded and came off as rather dry.

Nevertheless, The Book of Wanderings definitely is a touchingly poignant story of self discovery and finding a place where you belong. In the conclusion, reading this book was much akin to embarking on a pilgrimage of my own, at times it felt long and difficult although ultimately I believe it was worth it.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

