Book Review | Truly, Madly, Greekly by Mandy Baggot

greeklyAuthour:
Mandy Baggot
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 331 pages
Publication date:
May 22nd 2015
Publisher:
Bookouture
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Fun fact, I never knew that there were all-inclusive resorts in other places besides the Caribbean. Anyways just like its resort setting, Truly, Madly, Greekly is a book that lets its readers escape from all their everyday troubles. While it starts off slow, Truly, Madly, Greekly evolves into a mostly light beach read.

While there were countless situations that were unbelievable and definitely difficult to relate to, however the one thing that the protagonist, Ellen and I shared was our idea of a relaxing vacation. We both would like to just sit in peace and take pleasure in the book that we are currently reading, rather than partake in any resort activities. However, that’s where the similarities end, as I would never let anyone make me do anything other than my idea of relaxing. Though I guess it works and is necessary for the plot of Truly, Madly, Greekly to move forward. And while I initially was unsure of the romance between Ellen and Yan since their relationship progressed remarkably quickly, it was evident that they truly did care about each other which is always nice.

Regardless of my uncertainty of the romance, I thought the authour did an excellent job capturing how families can be dysfunctional yet still work well for the most part. Ellen’s dad and sister are just as self absorbed and stubborn as her, and it was nice seeing that deep down in their own warped way they truly cared about each other. I also loved how Ellen’s sister was able to grow up a bit by the conclusion as it allowed Ellen a chance to discover herself, and what it was that she desired in life.

Thus while it’s not my ideal read, Truly, Madly, Greekly is still an entertaining if albeit cheesy summer beach read which makes it perfect if you’re craving a simple read that doesn’t require you to take things too seriously.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

