Book Review | Three Day Summer by Sarvenaz Tash

3 dayAuthour:
Sarvenaz Tash
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 234 pages
Publication date:
May 19th 2015
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Girl meets boy, it’s your typical setup for a summer romance. However, what if they met in 1969 during the legendary Woodstock music festival? The result is the foundation for Sarvenaz Tash’s latest YA novel, Three Day Summer.

In case you haven’t figured it out yet, the setting of this book was probably my favourite aspect of Three Day Summer. I loved how the issue of gender inequality was addressed through the character of Cora. I loved how she had aspirations to become a doctor, this was uncommon for women during her time, and it made me sad to watch her be discouraged from being ambitious similar to countless girls during her time. For this reason, I loved Anna, who was an excellent supporting character as she always looked out for Cora and encouraged her. Additionally, I adored the delightful cameos from extremely recognizable musicians.

Three Day Summer is a novel that is told from a dual perspective by Michael a teenage boy from Massachusetts who has come to the music festival with his friends and his girlfriend, Amanda. To be honest, I wasn’t the biggest fan of Michael as I felt that he was slightly wishy-washy and indecisive which annoyed me a bit. However, in the conclusion, I did appreciate observing how he and Cora helped each other out and changed each other for the better.

Therefore, while Three Day Summer is not a book that I would count among my all-time favourite it is a book that has a summer-y feel to it which makes it an excellent summer read for those who love music and don’t mind books that contain insta-love and a bit of cheating in them.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

One thought on “Book Review | Three Day Summer by Sarvenaz Tash

  1. Great review. I have definitely never heard of or read a YA book set during Woodstock in 1969. Just that alone makes me want to grab this book and read it, what a great setting for a book. It sounds like it’s an okay read, but probably won’t turn out to be one I love.

Leave a Reply

