Book Review | Always the Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk

bridesmaidAuthour:
Lindsey Kelk
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 386 pages
Publication date:
June 16th 2015
Publisher:
Harper Collins
Publisher Social Media:
Twitter/Facebook/SavvyReader
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
For some of you, readers June is the start of the “wedding season” which means all those invitations to weddings of family and friends. Or perhaps you are the one getting married this year. Either way, if this is you, probably followed by you bracing for some heaving spending. For me neither is true, though my close friends are (mostly) in serious relationships, none of them are getting married anytime soon. And that’s okay, since I can live vicariously through fiction such as Lindsey Kelk’s Always the Bridesmaid which is basically all the excitement of a party without the actual stress from all the drama that usually comes to weddings.

I first time I learnt of this book from Suman at HarperCollins through twitter, and I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of Always the Bridesmaid for review from Kaitlyn who told me that it was an extremely enjoyable read (which it was so thank you so much, Kaitlyn!). I love how the relationship between Maddie and her best friends was portrayed in the book since for me; personally it rings true to life. There are times that my best friends and I would do things to drive each other insane, nevertheless when it comes down to it, we are there for each other when one of us needs it. Additionally, I also loved how each chapter starts with an entry from the bridesmaid journal that Lauren gives to Maddie and their friend, Sarah. This means you receive hilarious and amusing snippets of what the journal contains and what it asks the bridesmaids to write about, several of them make sense, however others are ridiculously cheesy, which makes it all the more entertaining.

If you are searching for a light and entertaining summer beach read, then I definitely recommend that you pick up Always the Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk since she truly has a gift for telling stories with flawed characters in a way that you cannot help but root for them to find happiness in the end.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

7 thoughts on “Book Review | Always the Bridesmaid by Lindsey Kelk

  1. This one sounds like a great summer read, might have to add this one to my TBR! Like that it shows a realistic portrayal of the relationship between friends. Me and my best friend can definitely drive each other crazy at times, but we’ve been best friends since we were five and I know I can count on him and he can count on me when we really need each other. Thank you for the great review πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

