Book Review | My Japanese Husband STILL Thinks I’m Crazy by Grace Buchele Mineta

WOA

For a listing to the links for all the other review posts for the Words of Asia blog event click here.

About the Authour:
Though, a native Texan Grace has lived all over the world. Currently she works as a freelancer in Japan where she currently lives with her husband, Ryosuke. My Japanese Husband STILL Thinks I’m Crazy, is the second book of comics that she has published and now her third book, Confessions of a Texan in Tokyo is now also available.

Where Does it Take Place?
Mostly in Tokyo and various parts of Japan that Grace and her husband travel to.

JPStill

What’s it About:
This is Grace’s second comic book, and once again we get more adventures of her and her husband living in Tokyo as broken newly weds. Follow Grace, her husband Ryosuke and Marvin (Grace’s over-active imagination who appears to her as a talking rabbit), as they experience both the joys and hardships of living abroad.

My Thoughts:
Ordinarily, I don’t really feature self-published books though once in a blue moon I make an exception. I’ve been a fan of Grace’s blog and comics for a while in fact I was one of her original Kickstarter backers.

Grace’s storytelling style is both accessible and entertaining, and I love reading the comic strips that show the unique and compelling perspective of a young American woman who is married to Japanese salary man and how they live their lives being broken newlyweds. Grace and her husband are incredibly adorable and if you get the chance you should check out a few of her YouTube videos featuring the two of them. They are definitely a couple that I would love to meet and befriend in real life.

Being somebody who is extremely interested in learning more regarding the Japanese culture, as I hope to visit one day the essays Grace includes throughout the book were one of my favourite parts of this book. Even the essays that weren’t directly concerning life in Japan, I still enjoyed reading. In particular, found them incredibly relatable especially the one concerning deciding to settle for doing things until they were “good enough” for you and not being a perfectionist. As always, the comics were quite amusing and I loved the one on takoyaki as it is definitely relatable since I’m just as obsessed with takoyaki and can totally picture myself eating it all day also. My Japanese Husband STILL Thinks I’m Crazy is another adorable portrayal of Grace’s life and as always I adore the light-hearted manner she takes when it comes to tackling serious topics akin to depression, anxiety, discrimination.

jpstill1
One of my favourite comics, that shows just how adorable Grace and her husband are. From page 12 of My Japanese Husband STILL Thinks I’m Crazy.

You’ll like this book, if you love:
Comics and reading about what’s it to being in an interracial relationship.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

4 thoughts on “Book Review | My Japanese Husband STILL Thinks I’m Crazy by Grace Buchele Mineta

  1. I’ve been watching their videos ever since Grace popped up in one of Rachel & Jun’s videos and I love them *__* And thanks to you retweeting an Amazon deal for her first two books I also have them on my Kindle now and should really just start them to feed my growing addiction and review them to tell the world about them. So thanks for retweeting that deal and YAY

    1. So glad to hear this! Grace has a new comic book coming out soon btw. And yeah I enjoy their videos too and would LOVE to meet Grace and her husband in person they seem really cool!

Leave a Reply

