Words of Asia | And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

WOA

For a listing to the links for all the other review posts for the Words of Asia blog event click here.

About the Authour:
Khaled Hosseini is the authour of the best-selling books, The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns. And the Mountains Echoed is his third novel to date. Currently a Goodwill Envoy for the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and he also founded the Khaled Hosseini Foundation which helps by giving humanitarian assistance to people in Afghanistan.

Where Does it Take Place?
The story starts in Afghanistan but moves around to various places from Paris, France to Pakistan to the USA.

16115612

What’s it About:
It’s the year 1952, and the reader is introduced to a pair of very young siblings Abdullah and his younger sister, Pari. Something tragic then happens that changes the course of both of their lives forever. The rest of the novel then follows the stories of not only Abdullah and Pari but many other characters that are or have become connected to them. No one is completely good or evil, but everyone has their flaws and regrets.

My Thoughts:
As this was my first book by Khaled Hosseini (my sister has been trying to push The Kiterunner on me for years though), I wasn’t sure what to expect. Fortunately I adored this book, the writing and characters truly held me captive. And I liked how this book was both heartbreaking but also uplifting at times, which made it all the more beautiful. Also the conclusion of And the Mountains Echoed was just so poignant and on point.

You’ll like this book, if you love:
Books  set in war-torn countries that are about family, sacrifice, love and loss.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Words of Asia | And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

  1. Since I’m a Hosseini fan, I have to read this one! I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet! However, your review made me want to buy it! Thanks! 😉

Leave a Reply

