Words of Asia | Ticket to Childhood by Nguyễn Nhật Ánh

WOA

For a listing to the links for all the other review posts for the Words of Asia blog event click here.

About the Authour:
Nguyễn Nhật Ánh is a well-known Vietnamese authour of stories for children, teenagers and adults. Ticket to Childhood or Cho tôi xin một vé đi tuổi thơ, as it was originally called is perhaps his best known and best selling work.

ticketchild

Where Does it Take Place?
Vietnam! Love the fact that its set in Vietnam because not that many books take place in Vietnam or about Vietnamese people that have been translated into English.

What’s it About:
Mui, a writer relates the story of his childhood and his adventures with his friends, Hai, Ti and  Tun in Vietnam. These tales are then simultaneously compared with how each of the characters turned out as adults.

My Thoughts:
Even if you weren’t born in Vietnam, which  I suspect many of you weren’t there is something that almost everyone can relate to. The carefree and innocent adventures that Mui and his friends have makes me a bit nostalgic for my childhood as well even though it wasn’t too long ago that I was a kid. So even though the book was not what I’d expected based off of what I could understand from the Vietnamese audiobook, it was still a magical read. This modern fairytale of sorts is a book that I’d recommend for those who fancy themselves as young at heart. Nguyễn Nhật Ánh is a gifted storyteller who is able to turn the most ordinary lives of children into something that is precious, extraordinary and truly magical. And even though the book is short in length, I think its perfect length for the story the authour is trying to tell.

You’ll like this book, if you love:
Books that will take you back to a much simpler time and remind you of what it was like to be a kid.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. Nevertheless, regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

One thought on “Words of Asia | Ticket to Childhood by Nguyễn Nhật Ánh

Leave a Reply

