Book Review | The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks by Sam Maggs

fangirlAuthour:
Sam Maggs
Format:
Hardcover, 207 pages
Publication date:
May 12th 2015
Publisher:
Quirk Books
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“Every fangirl is different. Her very identity as a fangirl is predicated on the fandom that gives her all the feels.” (p. 16)

When I first heard that this book was coming out, my interest was positively peaked. As somebody who considers herself to be a geek and a fan girl, I was definitely interested to read what Sam Maggs had to say.

The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy: A Handbook for Girl Geeks resembles a “how to” guide on the different aspects of fandom such as cosplay, conventions in addition there’s also a glossary of key terms when it comes to feminism and all things geek. While for countless geeks, the material in the book perhaps may seem akin to common sense, I thought it was written in a manner that made it entertaining to read regardless of whether or not you are familiar with the topics discussed in the book. Furthermore I certainly appreciated the section on kick ass female characters as I truly was unaware of several of them, and now that I know of them I am definitely putting them on my list of comics and books to read and shows to watch. In addition I loved reading the interviews with well-known personalities on what being a fan girl means to them.

Overall, The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy serves as an excellent introduction to all things geeky, and I loved that it was written from a feminist perspective that is accessible to all. Therefore even if you aren’t new to being nerdy/geek, I believe there are still a few useful things that you can pick up from this book including the section on the list of online resources and websites that are ideal for those looking maybe meet other geeks and gain further knowledge. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy is a book that I will definitely be passing along to my fellow geeky friends, even those that aren’t avid readers.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

