Book Review | The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

truthcomm

As part of the blog tour, we’ve been asked to play Two Truths and a Lie. For those of you unfamiliar with the game, you make three statements, 2 of which are true and 1 is a lie. So here are mine:

1. My older sister was the one who initially inspired me to study psychology.
2. I’m terrified of snakes.
3. We used to have a pet dog back when we were kids.

The reveal for which statement is the lie will be at the end of my review.

 

truthcomAuthour:
Susan Juby
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 309 pages
Publication date:
April 14th 2015
Publisher:
Razorbill Canada
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
It’s has been awhile since I initially read Alice, I Think by Susan Juby. As a result, I was intrigued when I heard that she had a new YA novel coming out. The Truth Commission is the story of Normandy Pale and it is written as the narrative fiction or rather a piece of creative non-fiction which is to be Normandy’s project for her junior year of high school. Therefore we are treated to countless footnotes that Normandy uses to address her teacher in addition to anyone who’s reading her work. These provided a light-hearted touch though they could become quite irritating when she uses loads of them at once, which she hilariously lampshades in the book.

If I ought to be honest, this book was nothing reminiscent what I had expected. Though, that may have to do with the fact that I read exceptionally little on it going into the book. Consequently, I was surprised to discover that the book was much darker than I had imagined. However, this is neither a good nor a terrible thing. Instead we receive a unique and captivating YA novel that is also a remarkable piece of storytelling.

Normandy’s story is a compelling one as it shows what happens when fiction and real life collide, and I found it interesting that Normandy is dragged into become a “Truth Commission” which her two best friends, Dusk and Neil. This was for the reason that Normandy was concealing various incredibly dark secrets concerning her older sister and her family which made it weirdly hilarious that she was being made to ask people for their truths when she is extremely closed off, herself.

As a co-creator of a web comic, myself (#fakememories), I resonated a great deal with the themes in Susan Juby’s The Truth Commission. Reading The Truth Commission has made me take a step back and critically examine how I tell the stories on top of how I write and portrayal characters in #fakememories. Thus, I consider The Truth Commission to be an essential read for everybody especially for those who write and tell stories.

And finally if you’re wondering which one of my statements was a lie, it was #2.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

4 thoughts on “Book Review | The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Leave a Reply

