Book Review | I Am Her Revenge by Meredith Moore

Authour: Revenge
Meredith Moore
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 319 pages
Publication date:
April 7th 2015
Publisher:
Razorbill
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
I tend to be a bit mistrustful when it comes to revenge novels, as I find that especially in YA ones there’s a trend towards a greater focus on the romance than the revenge aspect of the plot. Fortunately Meredith Moore’s I Am Her Revenge was a pleasant surprise in that it did not disappoint. From the start, I found the narrative to be extremely compelling, so much so that it was incredibly difficult for me to put the book down.

I Am Her Revenge follows Vivian, who has been trained all her life by her mother to exact revenge on the man who not only broke her mother’s heart but also ruined her mother’s life. This book was equal parts thrilling and creepy, especially the flashbacks to how Vivian was raised by her mother. I am obsessed with Vivian as a protagonist for the reason that of she is extremely cold and calculating. Still, deep down Vivian isn’t a terrible person rather she hasn’t been taught any better. And getting a glimpse into her mind, we also discover that she’s not exactly a “flawless” weapon in reality she’s just a girl who is afraid of her mother. In particular she’s terrified of being punished and she does not wish to disappoint the one person who’s always been there for her albeit in a twisted way.

Therefore, I liked seeing Vivian soften up and begin to care for others all while not deterring from her mission. I felt that this was handled quite nicely as it would’ve been a cop out and completely out of her character if she just suddenly had a change of heart and walked away from it all. Additionally, there is of course a little romance in the book and while at times it is a bit much I did appreciate how after everything she acknowledges that she’s not normal and that things akin to having a relationship won’t be trouble-free as it will not be simple to undo everything that her mother taught her, at least not right away.

There were a few things that I did not truly care for that occurred near the novel’s conclusion such as how one character expected Vivian to accept them and become a certain person; in addition, I felt that the pacing near the conclusion of the book felt slightly rushed. However, those are just two minor elements. Overall I felt that I Am Her Revenge was a revenge story done right and if you are looking for a good revenge story and you are fond of books set in boarding schools, you should definitely check this one out.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

