Mystery Monday | Liars Inc. by Paula Stokes

Mystery Mondays

Mystery Mondays is a sometimes weekly, sometimes biweekly and sometimes monthly review feature here on Words of Mystery that showcases books in the mystery (and on occasion thriller) genre that we are currently reading and our thoughts on them. Feel free to comment and leave suggestions as to what we should read and review next.

Authour: liars
Paula Stokes
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 361 pages
Publication date:
March 24th 2015
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
I’m been a fan of Paula Stokes’ previous works, including the Venom series that she wrote under the name Fiona Paul. Thus when I heard she was coming out with a new YA thriller, I was greatly anticipating it. Fortunately, I was provided a review copy of Liars, Inc. as did Ri from Hiver et Café therefore we decided to do a read-along of the book together.

Liars, Inc. is unlike Stokes’ other works, it is definitely creepier and darker in tone as it follows Max Cantrell and his friends who form a business in high school where they create lies or “alibis” for their classmates in exchange for cash. Told from the perspective of Max, I found it refreshing to read a YA thriller from a male’s POV and I felt that Stokes did an excellent job with creating Max’s voice which sounded quite authentic. Additionally, Max’s friends were equally compelling and well-developed characters in their own right and I am looking forward to reading a story from Parvati’s POV as I just loved her character. That being said I felt like I couldn’t truly connect with this book as much as I wished to, though maybe it’s given that I found it difficult to relate to the book’s setting and characters or perhaps it was for the reason that I could not comprehend a number of of their motivations, though I did enjoy the fact that we were inside Max’s head and therefore we got to watch him attempt to explain and rationalize his actions even if the rationale was flawed at times.

In spite of everything, I still thought Liars, Inc. was an extremely well-written YA thriller. And I loved how it touched on themes like family and love and I definitely appreciated the fact that while there was romance it was mostly eclipsed by the mystery elements. Finally Liars, Inc. is a book for people who crave to read a YA mystery/thriller, where characters are not easily forgiven and villains do not get off easily.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

