Early Book Review | I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

meetyouAuthour:
Heather Demetrios
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 388 pages
Publication date:
February 3rd 2015
Publisher:
Henry Holt and Co.
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
When I first heard of this book, I immediately wanted to get my hands on a copy as PTSD or Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is a subject that is extremely significant to me. Fortunately I received an ARC of this book, and I ended up doing a read along of this book with another book blogger, Tiff.

I’ll Meet You There is a book told from two perspectives, one which is Skylar Evans who cannot wait to leave Creek View and set off off to college while the other point of view is from Josh, a young man who is a Marine who has now come back to Creek View after losing a leg from his time in Afghanistan. This book was definitely not quick paced however it was an extremely character driven story which in this case worked to its benefits as both the protagonists are compelling individuals.

Initially while reading this book, I was not the biggest of Josh as he annoyed me a bit at first especially seeing how he treated other people nevertheless I found the chapters that were from his point of view extremely intriguing the PTSD recollections were incredibly vivid to the point where you can almost feel him struggling. On the other hand, I liked Skylar from the start even though she had her own personal issues I could honestly emphasize with what she was experiencing. In addition I liked her friendship with Dylan and her relationship with Marge who acted as another mother figure for Skylar when she needed one and her actual mother was not able to be there for her. I suppose out of everybody, Dylan would probably be my favourite character in this book for the reason that she’s the one who gives Skylar tough love and advice when no one else can. Finally while I initially was unsure of Josh, he did gradually grow on me to the point that I was actively rooting for him and Skylar to come together as a couple since the two of them are a great deal better off when they are together than when they’re not.

I’ll Meet You There is not your typical, light-hearted contemporary YA novel. It is however an emotional read concerning two troubled individuals that tugs at your heart strings and stays with you even after you have finished reading.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

