Book Review | Love, Lucy by April Lindner

lucyAuthour:
April Lindner
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 292 pages
Publication date:
January 27th 2015
Publisher:
Poppy
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
April Lindner is a YA authour well-known for writing YA novels that are modern retellings of classic novels. In her latest book, Love, Lucy she accomplishes this with E. M. Forster’s 1908 novel, A Room with a View. In this story, Lucy is a young woman who is on a backpacking trip through Europe with her friend, Charlene. It is the last and probably only time she is free to act as she wishes before she has to set off to a college that her father has chosen for her to study something that he expects her to. While in Italy Lucy meets Jesse who is a street musician and the rest that follows is just what you would expect to happen.

What I liked regarding Love, Lucy is that if you are familiar with the original inspiration for this book, you can definitely pick out the references and nods to A Room with a View. However the novel can be enjoyed just as much without prior knowledge of the book it was based on. Another thing I adored in this book was how I could relate to Lucy in one key aspect which was the feeling you get that anything is possible when you are allowed to travel on your own for the first time in your life without your parents. This was exactly how I felt during my first time, and I feel that Lindner captures this unbelievable feeling nicely. I also loved seeing Lucy gradually become her own person and doing what she loves in college. Her journey of self discovery in college was probably my favourite section of this book even though it wasn’t a major element of the story

That being assumed, I was not fond of Lucy as a character. I found her indecisiveness to be rather taxing and it broke my heart to watch her make decisions that ended up hurting others since she kept pushing herself to do things she didn’t feel like doing. I also found Jesse to be unappealing as a love interest for the reason that there were numerous times where he didn’t always have her best interest at heart and he also came off as have a few possessive tendencies towards her. In addition I felt that the entire “friendship” between Charlene and Lucy could have been developed a bit more since in the last portion it felt like things were wrapped up too neatly considering everything that transpired between the two of them.

Overall, this book was a light read that unquestionably warmed me up inside. Reading Love, Lucy has only enhanced my desire to visit Rome and Italy sometime during my lifetime. And while the premise of Love, Lucy was not an original one, it was nevertheless an enjoyable story.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

