Mystery Monday | The King of Shanghai by Ian Hamilton

Mystery Mondays

Mystery Mondays is a sometimes weekly, sometimes biweekly and sometimes monthly review feature here on Words of Mystery that showcases books in the mystery (and on occasion thriller) genre that we are currently reading and our thoughts on them. Feel free to comment and leave suggestions as to what we should read and review next.

Authour: kingshang
Ian Hamilton
Series:
Ava Lee #7
Format:
Trade paperback, 384 pages
Publication date:
January 5th 2015
Publisher:
Spiderline
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“…it was nice, for a change, to feel like a part of something bigger than herself.” (p. 296-297)

I’m starting to see a pattern now; it appears that every time I end up in a reading rut the only thing that can get me out of it is an excellent mystery novel. To be honest before The King of Shanghai, I’ve read a few books in the Ava Lee series except I did not read the more recent ones. Fortunately this did not deter me from loving The King of Shanghai.

The King of Shanghai is seventh book in the Ava Lee series and marks a major turning point the protagonist’s journey as she has recently experienced a significant change that results in a somewhat different type of storytelling and slightly more serious tone especially at the start of The King of Shanghai. However I was relieved to find that overall it still was the same series that I am familiar with and that I love, as there are numerous references to past cases and the major supporting characters such as Sonny return in this book. I liked how loyal Sonny and several of the other men who worked with Ava in the past were to her, and it was kind of cool that she was viewed as their boss. The King of Shanghai also marks the beginning of a new story arc involving the Triads, and introduces us to Xu who is a compelling character in his own right. I love how he resembles Uncle although he is still his own, unique person. Lastly what I loved mainly regarding this book was how it showed just how capable and kick butt Ava is when it comes to her work and how resilient she can be. I also loved seeing Ava work with other strong, intelligent women in addition to the men she normally works with.

The King of Shanghai was an unputdownable book that I would highly recommend for all. And since it is a book that marks a fresh chapter in Ava Lee’s life, it makes it an excellent starting point for readers new to the Ava Lee series. I for one will be eagerly anticipating the next book in the series which is set to release in 2016.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

