Mystery Monday | Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Mystery Mondays

Mystery Mondays is a sometimes weekly, sometimes biweekly and sometimes monthly review feature here on Words of Mystery that showcases books in the mystery (and on occasion thriller) genre that we are currently reading and our thoughts on them. Feel free to comment and leave suggestions as to what we should read and review next.

Authour: trustme
Mary Elizabeth Summer
Format:
Hardcover, 328 pages
Publication date:
October 14th 2014
Publisher:
Delacorte Press
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“I can’t say I have much personal experience with conscience. I wasn’t born with that particular cricket on my shoulder.”

These are the first two sentences that we hear from the narrator and protagonist, of Mary Elizabeth Summer’s Trust Me, I’m Lying. They are also the reason why I love Julep’s character. Okay she is extremely reckless and can be quite insensitive, not to mention the fact that it was a bit cliché that she too wasn’t immune to teenage hormones and falling for the hottest guy in school. Still, I loved how she for the majority, Julep remains a total badass and is unapologetic with reference to what she does to help herself survive and to assist the people that she cares about.

The central plot in this book follows Julep, a teenaged con artist who lives with her dad who also happens to be a con artist. One day she comes home from school to find her apartment turned upside down and her gone. The rest of the book has her working with her best friend, and partner in crime Sam along with a few other unlikely characters who all lend a hand her in their own unique ways to find out what essentially happened. The story was in reality much darker than I thought it would be, however I was okay with it. I enjoyed the conspiracy elements, and I appreciated how it was shown that Julep, although she is an extremely skilled and intelligent is still just a teenage girl. And despite being an excellent con artist she’s not invincible or immune to getting hurt (both physically and mentally), and suffering from the consequences of her actions. Additionally it’s pleasing that she slowly learns to trust and depend on more people other than her dad and her best friend. Also while there is a love triangle of sorts in this book, I was pleased that it was not predominant in the book as I kind of like it when the focus is not on the romance in thriller and mystery novels.

Overall, Trust Me, I’m Lying is an remarkable debut novel in addition to being a high stakes, and incredibly thrilling novel. Furthermore, while I was satisfied with where Trust Me, I’m Lying left Julep in the conclusion, I wouldn’t object to additional books following her adventures as I feel as if there are still numerous things I would enjoy seeing happen on top of that, I wouldn’t mind getting the answers to various intriguing questions that were left unanswered such as what happened to her mother? Let’s hope that this book will become a series as I’m not yet ready to say goodbye to Julep just yet

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

4 thoughts on “Mystery Monday | Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Leave a Reply

