Blog Tour | Kiss Kill Vanish by Jessica Martinez Book Review

20140930-112213.jpg

Authour:kisskill
Jessica Martinez
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 422 pages
Publication date:
October 7th 2014
Publisher:
Katherine Tegen Books
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Kiss Kill Vanish by Jessica Martinez was actually one of my most anticipated fall releases so I was ecstatic to be a part of the blog tour for this book. After all a story concerning a girl on the run from her father and boyfriend after witnessing them kill a man sounded just so thrilling. Unfortunately the execution of the story was not as exciting as I had expected as the first half of the book was slow to start.

In spite of that, there were a few things that I liked when it came to this book. First I loved the fact that much of the story takes place in Montreal. It’s always appealing when a Canadian city is the key or one of the major settings in a book. Another thing that I thought the authour did an excellent job of was capturing the emotions and confusion of a teenage girl who has to come to terms with several harsh realities with incredibly no warnings. I suppose it was fitting for Valentina to be as impulsive as she was given her situation, her age and her relatively privileged and sheltered life. Still she managed to be quite resourceful (with a little help) and I liked the scenes where we can observe her struggling to reclaim her own identity and independence.

That being said, I also found her to be at times extremely naïve for a person who was supposed to be on the run. She gave up her identity quite easily when she re-encounters one of the two people she’s been running from her former life. In addition, I did not perceive the appeal of the two guys in her life. Her boyfriend, Emilio was emotionally manipulative and the new guy, Marcel was a jerk though he does slightly improve after a certain event in the book. Nevertheless I thought that Valentina could do so much better than the choices she was given. In the conclusion however, I liked the place where Martinez leaves the character of Valentina. Overall, Kiss Kill Vanish was a decent book that had an extremely promising concept; unfortunately however, for the most part it left me feeling a little bit disappointed.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Kiss Kill Vanish by Jessica Martinez Book Review

Leave a Reply

