Early Book Review | My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

Authour:truelove
Various
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 323 pages
Publication date:
COMES OUT October 14th 2014!!
Publisher:
St. Martin’s Griffin
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Laugh all you want, however I love the winter holidays especially Christmas. Sure my family isn’t extremely religious or anything save for the fact that we still get together to eat delicious food and exchange gifts. And yes, it may be naïve nevertheless I honestly want to believe that what Christmas is a truly magical time when miracles can and do happen. This as long with the fact that I’m a hopeless romantic are the reasons why I adored the holiday anthology, My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories.

Imagine several of your favourite YA contemporary authours in one collection, this is what you get in My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories a collection of short stories edited by best selling YA writer, Stephanie Perkins. I love Jenny Han and Gayle Forman, both of whom I had the pleasure of meeting in person and this anthology just made me fall in love with their writing even more if that’s even possible. In addition, I got to rediscover Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkin’s, and while I’m not generally an enormous fan of their books, I simply adored their contributions in this collection. Rainbow Rowell’s story, in fact starts of this collection; it had a Landline (her recent book) type of feel to it though the characters were definitely younger. I loved the adorable meet cute between the characters Mags and Noel and the story and their relationship without a doubt made me swoon just a little. Also the story by Stephanie Perkins in this book was incredibly sweet and I am extra obsessed with it for the reason that there is a Charlie Brown reference that is made in the story.

In the conclusion, however what won me over was the fact that I got to discover numerous YA writers for the first time. Matt de la Pena, Ally Carter, and Myra McEntire also contributed well written stories to this collection and I’m glad that I got a glimpse at what they’re capable of. Additionally, I was impressed by the fact that the stories kept getting better and better with two minor exceptions and I loved devouring the stories even though I did attempt to savour it. So if you desire or even if you do believe in love, magic, and miracles during the holiday you need to read My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Early Book Review | My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I can’t even tell you the number of reasons why I think this book would be perfect for me. It sounds like it is right up my alley. I saw something for it on goodreads, but I never really gave it a second glance. Now I am super excited to try it out.

    great review! And thank you for sharing your blog with me 😉

Leave a Reply

