Mystery Monday | Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes

Mystery Mondays

Mystery Mondays is a sometimes weekly, sometimes biweekly and sometimes monthly review feature here on Words of Mystery that showcases books in the mystery (and on occasion thriller) genre that we are currently reading and our thoughts on them. Feel free to comment and leave suggestions as to what we should read and review next.

Authour:brokenmon
Lauren Beukes
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 439 pages
Publication date:
September 16, 2014
Publisher:
Little Brown and Company
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
In Lauren Beukes’s Broken Monsters, the story is told from five major points of views, all of whom are characters that are “broken” in their own way and can be considered “monsters” depending on who you ask. Set in the city of Detroit; a place known for its high crime rate, most of the action revolves around the underground street art world in the book. What I love with regards to this book was how the characters provide such a unique take on the events of the book as they have different backgrounds and different roles that connect them to each other and brings them into the investigation.

On the other hand, I will say that within the different perspective offered, there were definitely some that were more interesting than another. For instance, I loved the chapters that focused on Detective Gabriella “Gabi” Versado who was the ideal blend of cool and vulnerable. I love how she was excellent at her job, yet she was also prone to the stresses and trauma that may result from her job as a detective. I also liked Layla; her daughter who was incredibly different than other teens I’m come across in books. She felt like someone whom I could have known back in high school as she was impulsive, and made stupid decisions despite being quite smart. On the other hand, I was not as interested in Clayton’s story or the journalist, Jonno’s chapters as I felt they were uninteresting and dragged out at times.

Broken Monsters took me by surprise as I initially thought I would be disappointed since the story felt extremely long and slow at the start. Fortunately, over time the chapters started getting shorter, which helped move the story along, though the downside was that it meant I got less time with the characters that I cared about. Overall, Broken Monsters was a vivid, thrilling though slightly disturbing and bizarre read set.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

One thought on “Mystery Monday | Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes

Leave a Reply

