Frenzy Presents 2014 | Four Titles I Can’t Wait For!

Last Sunday, I got the great privilege of attending my first publisher event for bloggers. Hosted by the HarperCollins team at their offices, “Frenzy Presents” is sort of like a fall preview but just for upcoming YA titles from Harper. Anyways instead of doing an event recap, I’d thought I’d just highlight four of the upcoming titles (four because that was my team number for the trivia game, shot out to my teammates, Tiff and Melissa, sorry I wasn’t more useful with the questions) from the presentation that I am extremely excited for. And if you guys want recaps, I provide some links below to bloggers who are doing event recaps. So without further delay, here are the four YA books (in no particular order) that I’m anticipating from Harper:

fallingintoplaceFalling into Place by Amy Zhang

Interesting fact, the authour of this book is only eighteen years old! Pretty awesome no? This contemporary YA title was actually one that I was on the fence about, however after hearing more about it at the Frenzy Presents event, I am definitely going to pick this one up, Falling into Place follows the story of Liz Emerson a girl who one day tries to kill herself by running her car into a tree. She ends up in the hospital and the story,told by an apparently unexpected narrator consists of nonlinear “flashbacks” which will give readers more insight into who Liz was and why she did what she did. Falling into Place seems like it will be a very moving story and I am very intrigued as to who the narrator is. This book releases on September 9th 2014.

 

blackholesMy Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

Mental illness and suicide is a topic that remains very important to me, as I personally know many people who are suffering from mental illness and have tried to do it at some point and even more than once. The story in this book is about a girl named Ayse, who because of all the stressors in her life both from her family and her classmates, decides to take her own life. She ends up going online to find a suicide partner (someone to help her take her life), and instead she finds someone who makes her question her decision to take her own life even though he is still determined to take his own life. Sounds like it will be an important and emotional read. Cannot wait for this book which comes out, February 10th 2014!

 

jewelThe Jewel (The Lone City #1) by Amy Ewing

Proclaimed as The Selection meets The Handmaid’s Tale, this is one title that I have been excited for since the start. I love that even that it’s a YA novel that tackles a lot of very serious topics like human trafficking and surrogacy as the protagonist, Violet is a surrogate whose job is to carry the children of others. There is also romance in this book which is always nice though I hope there won’t be a love triangle. If this book sounds like something right up your alley, be sure to check out The Jewel by Amy Ewing is coming out in stores September 2nd 2014!

 

redqueen2Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Okay before this event, I had heard ALOT of things about this Red Queen. However being someone who almost always reads just contemporary fiction in the YA genre I chose to enjoy all the hype around this book as I figured it wouldn’t be the kind of book I’d like. I was proven wrong when Suman started to talk about it at “Frenzy Presents”! People with special powers, a rebel movement and awesome, kick butt characters? I am for sure intrigued, and will be definitely checking out this book when it comes out February 10th 2015.

 

Anyways those are the four teen titles, I’m looking forward to from HarperCollins. I’d like to thank Suman for the invitation as well as give a shout out to Kaitlyn (thanks for the books!) and Shannon, it was lovely to meet and talk with you again. Oh and as promised, here are some links to recaps done by other bloggers:

Video Recap from Maji Bookshelf – http://youtu.be/H4W3NNyowHA
Blog Event Recap from Maji Bookshelf – http://majibookshelf.blogspot.ca/2014/08/hcc-frenzy-presets-recap.html
Book Nerd Canada’s Event Recap – http://booknerd.ca/recap-2014-hcc-frenzy-ya-book-blogger-event/
Booking it With Haley G’s Event Recap – http://booknerd.ca/recap-2014-hcc-frenzy-ya-book-blogger-event/

9 thoughts on “Frenzy Presents 2014 | Four Titles I Can’t Wait For!

  1. That’s awesome that your were invited! Seems like it was a total blast! 😀
    I have to say that I’ve fallen victim to the Red Queen hype monster. I am all over it. I needs it in my grabby little hands.
    I’m excited for The Jewel but I’m also weary. I am one of those readers that strongly disliked The Selection series. So the comparison is kind of off putting for me. But I’m still going to give it a try.
    And of course Falling Into Place and My Heart and Other Black Holes are must reads. They both sound absolutely fantastic and heart breaking.
    Happy reading!
    Brittany @ This is the Story of My(Reading) Life

    1. Yeah, it was my first publisher event as a book blogger! And I’m actually more excited for The Jewel now that I know that Red Queen has a love triangle in it which makes me a bit wary. Anyways thanks for commenting and happy reading to you too!

  2. I’m really looking forward to The Jewel! At first I’ll admit that I judged it by the cover and thought I wouldn’t like it but after reading the synopsis it sounds really great! Also, I can’t resist anything that is comparable to The Handmaid’s Tale. Good thing there’s not too long to wait until that one comes out!

  3. AHHHH I think the two i’m most excited for are defintely Falling into Place and of course the amazing Red Queen (seoruisly with a cover like THAT and such a killer synopsis it’s going to be a long wait until February)

Leave a Reply

