Book Review | Love and Chaos by Gemma Burgess

Authour:lovechaos
Gemma Burgess
Format:
Trade Paperback, 320 pages
Publication date:
February 25th 2014
Publisher:
St. Martin’s Griffin
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“The only thing that will give your life meaning is the people around you. Create a circle of support that will keep you afloat when you feel like you might drown. A life raft. That’s what your friends are. A life raft.” (p. 184)

When I first heard about this series, I was excited to get into it as I am extremely close in age to the girls. In addition, there are not that many books that follow the lives of characters in their twenties right after they’ve finished their postsecondary education.

Love and Chaos is the second book in the Brooklyn Girls series by Gemma Burgress, and it follows the adventures of Angie, who in the first book was seen as the wild party girl who often was drunk, and was best friends with Pia the protagonist in the first book. I actually didn’t like her character in the first book so I was surprised that I actually fell in love with her character in Love and Chaos. In fact, I adored her more than Pia who honestly often got on my nerves in Brooklyn Girls. I believe that the main reason why I felt more affection for Angie was because I could relate to her on so numerous levels, such as how despite her tough exterior, she was secretly a romantic. In addition, I could relate extremely well to her struggles in finding a job and how she hides her all her struggles and vulnerabilities with a tough exterior. I loved seeing her grow throughout the novel and watching her become more considerate of others as she starts to open up more to the other people, especially the girls that she lives with, even though she initially mocked them for their closeness.

All in all Love and Chaos is probably one of my favourite reads this year for the summer as it has a nice balance of realistic vs. dramatic storytelling. I love the fact that even though there is romance and love it isn’t the sole goal for any of these girls, which wouldn’t be realistic as they’re only in their early 20s and have other worries and concerns as well. After reading Love and Chaos, I am excited for the rest of the books in the series, in particular, I cannot for the book that will focus on Julia’s story just cause I came to adore her character so much more in this book. So if you’re looking for a series that is more about the characters in their twenties and focuses more on female friendship and goals rather than romantic relationships then you should definitely try this series.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Brooklyn Girls by Gemma Burgess

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

