Book Review | The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson

Authour:girlsaved
Jonas Jonasson
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 387 pages
Publication date:
April 29th 2014
Publisher:
Harper Collins
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“Nombeko had no intention of being more cooperative toward the smarmy man than she had been in the shower the day before. So she replied that, as luck would have it, she had another pair of scissors in her possession, and that she would very much like to keep them rather than use them on Uncle Thabo’s other thigh. But as long as Uncle kept himself under control–and taught her to read–thigh number two could retain its good health.”

Prior to starting The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, I had read two other books which broke my heart in different ways, either of them in good ways. As a result, I knew that I needed an excellent; fun read for my next book otherwise I would end up in a book slump which wouldn’t be good. After confirming that The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden would be a light and funny book, I decided to pick it up as my next read.

Since The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden was my first book by Jonas Jonasson, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I the end, I fell in love with the book, characters and the story. Nombeko, who had such a fun introduction in the book is such an remarkable protagonist. I loved how she was so intelligent, resourceful and resilient and she was just so sensible that it was easy to root for her throughout the book.

Jonasson’s writing throughout is simple, and straightforward. The third person narration throughout the book and that introduces us to Nombeko and various other characters give the story the charm and feel of a modern fairy tale. There is also much dark humour throughout the book but it is told with such lightness that it is not difficult to accept the occasional dreadful horrible things that may befall some of the characters.

All in all The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden is a laugh out loud tale of one girl’s inspiring adventure and journey of overcoming all the obstacles life throws at her while coming across an amazing cast of wacky side characters. In particular, I loved the three Chinese girls who were sisters who had much knowledge about strange an unusual things as well as Holger One and his angry girlfriend, Celeste who while annoying mainly for the reason that they held ridiculously insane ideas that more often than not lead to even more crazy behaviours, were also likeable for how hilarious they were. The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden is definitely a must read for everyone who loves a whimsical and highly amusing read.

If you like this book, you’ll love: The Best Laid Plans by Terry Fallis

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

