Early Book Review | Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Authour:landline
Rainbow Rowell
Format:
Egalley
Publication date:
July 8th 2014
Publisher:
St. Martin’s Press
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
I haven’t had much luck with Rainbow Rowell’s books; I disliked and did not finish Eleanor and Park. And while I found both Attachments and Fangirl okay, I wasn’t truly wowed by either of them. However the synopsis her newest book, Landline appealed to me much more than the plot of any of her other books so I was excited to pick it up. And I’m glad I did as Rainbow Rowell’s writing has definitely improved a great deal over time.

A marriage is in trouble and a magic yellow phone may be the key to saving it; this is the premise of Rainbow Rowell’s latest book Lanline. In Lanline, the Protagoras is Georgie McCool, a mother, wife, and TV writer who is working on a new show that she hopes will get picked up. However as she gets more and more consumed with her work she starts to neglect her family and her marriage more. This realization finally hits her hard when her husband and daughters take off to visit his mother for Christmas leaving her behind and alone. And it is on this day when she is alone in her room that she discovers a way to talk to a younger version of her husband Neal. With this Georgie is confronted with a dilemma, having found a way where she could go back and change the past and as a result her and Neal’s future, would she take advantage of it?

To be honest, initially I didn’t actually like present day Neal, even though he seemed like a decent guy and an excellent father. Mostly I found his relationship with Georgie frustrating, even though it was both of their faults that there were problems in their marriage. However after getting a chance to see what Neal was like when they were younger in addition to learning about the back-story of their relationship, the pairing of Georgie and Neal started to slowly grow on me. I also thought the present day Georgie’s phone conversations with 1998 Neal were incredibly adorable, mostly because it showed how obviously Georgie was in love with Neal both in the past and in the present.

Landline is a realistic portrayal of long-term relationships in particular marriage and how easy it is to get comfortable in routines that you end up forgetting to consider the other person in the relationship. This book is for anyone who is a fan of Rainbow Rowell’s other books as well as anyone who loves adult contemporary fiction.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Early Book Review | Landline by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I can’t wait to read this book! I’m glad you liked it despite not really liking her other work. I read Fangirl and, like you said, it was okay but I feel like this might be more up my alley! Thanks for the review 🙂

Leave a Reply

