Book Review | The One & Only by Emily Giffin

Authour:theone
Emily Giffin
Format:
Hardcover, 400 pages
Publication date:
May 20th 2014
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

“Then again, I know it’s not the win itself, but everything that went into the victory.” (p. 413)

Emily Giffin is such an amazing authour and I have always loved her books for the reason that the characters are usually incredibly relatable. And I also just love reading her stories and seeing how they unfold is she is a gifted storyteller when it comes to women and relationships. Giffin’s latest book, The One & Only is about Shea Rigsby, a thirty something woman who thinks she has her life all figured out until a tragedy close to her makes her realizes that she doesn’t. The rest of the book is about her journey of finding out what she truly wants in life.

One of the things that I found was extremely different in The One & Only versus Giffin’s previous novels, is how there is a lot of football talk in the book given the setting of the book it made sense but for someone who isn’t incredibly into football or any sports for that matter, it was difficult to immerse myself in that aspect of the story at times.

While overall I liked the writing style and the story, I had a few issues with the book. The first one is a bit of a nitpick, but I found it annoying how Coach Clive Carr was always be referred to in the book as “coach”, in fact there were times I forgot his name was actually Clive. And while I get that being a football “coach” is a major part of his identity, I wish Giffin used his name more in the book. On the other hand, while I found it weird that Coach Carr called Shea “girl”, it did not annoy me as much as the whole “coach” thing. Secondly the thing that I had a bigger issue with was the romantic that was the endgame. Without giving away too much (I hope), I found that relationship to have a major power imbalance which made me feel a little weirded out, especially as I was trying to imagine how I would react if one of my friends had a romantic relationship like the one that Shea ends up in.

In the end however, I think there is a one important message that this book gives to readers, which is if there is something you want, then you should strive for it no matter what anyone says, because if you try and succeed then perhaps its meant to be. And if you try and fail then perhaps it was not meant to be. All in all, The One & Only was a decent read that touches upon some extremely serious topics. And while I still sort of like her other books a bit more, I would recommend The One & Only to those who are diehard Emily Giffin fans or diehard football fans or both.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | The One & Only by Emily Giffin

  1. Giffin is one of my favourite AF writers too. I agree that she gets it right with being a women and life.
    I’ve yet to read this one but the plan is to pick it over the summer. Anyhow, great review! I tend to like books that incorporate a sport(I’m a big sports person). So hopefully I can relate a little more to that side of the story than yourself.
    Happy reading!
    Brittany @ This is the Story of My(Reading) Life

Leave a Reply

