Blog Tour | Prototype by M.D. Waters Book Review

Authour:proto
M.D. Waters
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 375 pages
Publication date:
July 24th 2014
Publisher:
Dutton Adult
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:

While I did enjoy the first book, Archetype I found that it was lacking something. In particular, I found Emma to be a bit too passive, although to be fair, she had just lost all her memories. This is why I’m glad to see a more independent, proactive and kick butt Emma in Prototype.

Prototype is the second book in M.D. Waters’ duology and I thought it was the perfect length. Too often I find, books are part of a series, and sometimes the story gets dragged out for way too long. As well the wait for each new book to come out can be which is why I’m glad this series with done with book two.

Right from the start, it picks up almost right after the events of Archetype. However, for those who haven’t read the first book, Waters does such a fine job of helping the reader catch up to the plot that it does not matter if you haven’t read the first book. Actually, I personally think it would be more enjoyable if you read Prototype as a standalone, but that’s just my take, having read both books.

Besides the character growth that Emma undergoes in Prototype, I also like how the world building was expanded upon in this book, especially as more hidden connections between the various characters are revealed in this book. In addition the friendships and relationships, in particular the main romance is explored further and it becomes clear who Emma is meant to be with since when you witness her with Noah it makes sense. Their relationship just works in a way that you cannot help but root for her and Noah. Which brings me to my next point, what I greatly disliked about this book was how the whole situation with Sonya was handled; I couldn’t help but feel great sympathy for her even though she had to know what kind of situation she was getting herself into. In addition, I felt like Emma acted on incredibly selfish desires having barely known her daughter, she wants to bond with her right away. Still I can understand her jealousy of the close relationship Sonya has with the girl who is technically Emma’s daughter. Actually, I suppose this issue was kind of unresolved by the novel’s end, which makes me wonder how Emma, Noah and Adrienne will move forward as a family since Adrienne has always viewed Sonya as more of her mother.

In summary Prototype‘s greatest are on the whole, its characters and their relationships. I love how Foster and Emma’s friendship was further developed in this book as well as the friendships Emma forms with people her “old self” disliked like Miles. Although a bit predictable at times, Prototype is a satisfying conclusion to a new adult series that is an interesting mix of science fiction and somewhat spiritual elements.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Archetype by M.D. Waters

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

