Book Review | How to Succeed in Business Without Really Crying by Carol Leifer

Authour:suceedbus
Carol Leifer
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 224 pages
Publication date:
April 8th 2014
Publisher:
Quirk Books
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
How to Succeed in Business without Really Crying is a sort of memoir written by Carol Leifer, who is a comedian, writer, producer and actress. In case you haven’t heard of her (I know I didn’t before picking up this book), she was a writer for shows like Seinfeld and Saturday Night Live, in addition to being one of the creators of The Ellen Show which was a sitcom starring Ellen DeGeneres.

Initially this book did intrigue me, and so I was more than happy to start reading it when a friend of mine suggested I pick it up next. How to Succeed in Business without Really Crying was an interesting look at one woman’s career, I love reading about how she got her start and how supportive her parents were of her dreams and goals. And I think it was a nice touch that she wove pieces of incredibly useful and practical advice that can be applied to any career and not just show business within the anecdotes and stories that she tells about her life. Overall there was an excellent mixture of life stories and practical advice throughout.

While several of her advice may seem obvious to several readers, I personally felt that I learned so much. In fact, I found myself putting various sticky tabs throughout my copy, all while having the urge to highlight or underline certain things in the books so that I can go back and find them again in the future. All in all, How to Succeed in Business without Really Crying was an extremely straightforward and highly entertaining read. It is a book that you want to savour because it’s so short and you don’t want to miss anything. And despite being chocked full of useful and practical advice, the conversational tone of the writing allows it to not come off as too preachy. I would highly recommend this book for anyone currently looking for work especially in this economy.

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

