Book Review | Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Authour:you've gone
Morgan Matson
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 448 pages
Publication date:
May 6th 2014
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
To be honest, I wasn’t going to pick up this book to read, but after hearing so several of my fellow book bloggers enjoy it I just had to check it out. Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone is at its heart a story about female friendship which is what I loved about it. I loved the friendship between Sloane and Emily because Sloane truly helped Emily to come out of her shell. As well their friendship reminded me of the relationship between my best friend in my first year of college and me. Like Sloane, my friend ended up disappearing halfway through the year and in the end I never heard from her again. I should mention that although Sloane has disappeared in the present story she does make a lot of appearances via flashbacks which always make sense when they occurred were always carried out in a smooth and clearly stated manner. It is through these flashbacks that we get a better understanding of their friendship and why it’s so important for Emily to find out where Sloane went.

Another aspect in Since You’ve Been Gone I adored was the significance of lists in the story. Firstly it is the list that Sloane leaves behind for Emily that spurs her to embark on a quest to complete all the items on the list in hopes that by doing so she will find Sloane again. This leads Emily to have numerous adventures, while discovering who she is outside of Sloane. The other thing is the numerous playlists throughout the book that Emily uses for when she goes running in addition to the playlists that her love interest, Frank listens to. I loved all the playlists spread throughout the book and I could not resist looking up some of the songs to compile into my own playlist to listen to as I read this book.

While there is a bit of romance in the book, it is more of a slow burning one as the love interest, Frank has a girlfriend at the start of the novel. This actually leads to the next point I want to make which was the only thing that I hated about this book was how quickly all of Emily’s new “friends” dropped her after she confessed to doing a certain thing. This frustrated me because she was so supportive of all the things they did, but when she made one mistake they just ditched her. Sadly this is left unresolved by the end of the book.

Still in spite of my one issue with the story I did enjoy this book, as the story of Sloane and Emily’s friendship truly resonated with me. Overall Since You’ve Been Gone was an enjoyable book, perfect for light summer reading.

If you like this book, you’ll love: The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

  1. I haven’t had the chance yet to get my hands on this book but everyone really seems to enjoy it! It sounds like the perfect summer read….I kind of feel like the only one now who hasn’t read it yet 😀 Great review!

Leave a Reply

