[Blog Tour] Book Review |The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

ArtOfLainey_blogtour

Authour:Lainey
Paula Stokes
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 378 pages
Publication date:
May 20th 2014
Publisher:
HarperTeen
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
I’ve really been on a contemporary young adult fiction kick lately, so I was pleased to be a part of the blog tour for Paula Stokes’ The Art of Lainey. Before I even picked up this book though I stumbled upon a guest post the authour wrote featuring an interview with the protagonist, Lainey and her best friend Bianca. It was this post that made me what to start reading the book months before the actual blog tour. I just loved the friendship that Lainey and Bianca have and this was evident in the guest post as well as throughout the novel. They were always there for each other when one needed the other and I liked that they could joke around with each other so easily.

Lainey was an interesting character. Normally I dislike any character that tends to define themselves mainly through the people they are dating but somehow the authour pulls it off and makes me root for Lainey. I think it’s probably because she’s a tomboy and kind of loud which makes her a little more relatable to me. In addition she showed a lot of maturity as the book progressed as she began to differentiate between those who truly loved and supported her and those who cared only about their own interests.

I also adore the relationship between Micah and Lainey, the romance was part cute and some part hot, and the fact that they didn’t seem like a perfect fit initially made it all the more adorable when they started to fall for each other. The Art of Lainey was an enjoyable contemporary YA novel with very real characters and pretty realistic portrayals of relationships and friendships. It had a great story, as well as good writing and characters, and I loved the fact that each chapter started off with a quote from The Book of War, an ancient Chinese war manual and the book from where the title of this book was loosely based off of.

If you like this book, you’ll love: 16 Things I Thought Were True by Janet Gurtler

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

