Early Book Review | Cutting Teeth by Julia Fierro

Authour:cutteeth
Julia Fierro
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 319 pages
Publication date:
May 13th 2014
Publisher:
St. Martin’s Press
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
A group of parents are invited by one of their “friends” to spend the weekend at her parents’ beach house. This is how Julia Fierro’s Cutting Teeth begins as Nicole; an overly anxious mother invites the other members of the play group she is a part of to spend some time away from their regular lives. Nicole isn’t the only one with issues as we discover as each of the other member of the play group is introduced including a Tibetan nanny named Tenzin who has a rather unique and unusual view of the parents.

This book definitely wasn’t what I was expecting. Al though it has interesting takes on the different kinds of families and children that come from them in addition to the fact that it wasn’t afraid to expose the hard realities and real anxieties of modern parenting I had a difficult time getting into this book. I think this is probably because I will never be a parent so I couldn’t relate to some of the things the parents did, and instead it just made them less tolerable for me. However unlikable an d unbearable I found the characters, I did appreciate seeing chapters from their perspectives as it gave me more insight into why they are the kind of person and parent that they are. Though it in no way redeems them from any of the horrible things they do, it does make them more “human” in my eyes.

While Cutting Teeth is a fictional story, I think it does an incredible job of tackling aspects of parenthood that people would rather not talk about or may not consider like the dynamics in play groups which are like high school cliques. It gives one kind of behind the scenes look at parenting and how some parents may view their kids. I think the ending of the book has an important message in that sometimes you just have to move on from big, dramatic events mostly because you have no choice but sometimes because its what’s best for everyone.

If you like this book, you’ll love: We Are Water by Wally Lamb

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Leave a Reply

