Early Book Review | Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn

Authour:brokenhearts
Katie Finn
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 339 pages
Publication date:
May 13th 2014
Publisher:
Feiwel and Friends
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
A summer away in the Hamptons living in a huge house which you mostly have to yourself and living near a very cute boy, sounds perfect right? That’s what Gemma thinks until things go very wrong. It all starts with a case of mistaken identity, upon her arrival Gemma is mistaken for someone else and she just goes with it? Why you may ask? Well because she hopes to use the opportunity to atone for some horrible things she did as a kid to her former best friend, Hallie.

I found the extent that Gemma went to hide her true identify to be very over the top at times and always hilarious. And I found her attempts to make things right with Hallie pretty desperate as Hallie doesn’t seem to be responding in kind. I think because the entire book is narrated by Gemma we can sympathize with her more than Hallie since I actually felt bad for Gemma throughout the entire book. She isn’t a bad person and she has grown up from the kid she was before. Unfortunately she is still carrying all this guilt from something that happened when she was just a scared, little kid and now it seems like she’s still paying for it. Though I didn’t really like Hallie, I did enjoy the developing romance between her brother Josh and Gemma. It was super sweet and cute for a summer romance. I also liked Gemma’s friendship with Sophie, Sophie was such an amazing friend to Gemma and I loved how understanding she was of everything after Gemma confesses to her.

Broken Hearts, Fences and Other Things to Mend is not your typical light and fluffy contemporary read. It’s more like a contemporary read with a bit of a somewhat sinister lining throughout the book as it’s quite obvious who is behind everything bad that happens to Gemma in this book. Broken Hearts, Fences and Other Things to Mend was an okay start to the trilogy but I am more excited for the next book because based on the title, I think it will be extremely interesting to see how Gemma gets her revenge. I’m hoping it’s going to be good as I’m definitely rooting for her.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Love Struck by Chantel Guertin


Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Early Book Review | Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn

  1. I’ve had my eye on this book lately! I love that you mentioned that it’s not the typical light and fluffy read. I prefer contemporaries with a more serious side, or a “sinister lining” as you said this one has. This one looks like a great book, and I’m looking forward to reading it! Great review!

Leave a Reply

