Early Book Review | The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

Authour:geograpghy
Jennifer E. Smith
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 337 pages
Publication date:
April 15st 2014
Publisher:
Little, Brown for Young Readers
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Review:
Jennifer E. Smith’s The Geography of You and Me is a contemporary young adult love story set in one of my favourite cities in the world, New York City. This was a book that I was really looking forward to reading this book; unfortunately I think I may have gone into with it extremely high expectations. The Geography of You and Me follows two teenagers, Owen and Lucy, Owens’s dad is struggling to find and keep a job while Lucy’s family is pretty well off. The two meet during a black out in New York City but soon have to part ways because of their respective family situations. The two teens then struggle move on with their lives while attempting to keep in touch through mostly postcards which is an odd choice. Normally I would find this to be super romantic, but I this case I didn’t really care for either character or for their relationships, which made it hard for me to enjoy their communications with each other.

Even though I did not really care for the main characters, I did find the story charming and both Lucy and Owen had their endearing moments especially in the rare instance when the readers are shown the kind of connection Lucy and Owen have. I also think the authour made a bold move in having the entire book told from an omniscient third person though separating the chapters that show Lucy’s life versus Owens’s life. I thought that because of the type of story The Geography of You and Me we would get two first person narrators, one for Lucy and one for Owen so I felt that by having one third person narration for both characters was an interesting choice. Also the chapters were pretty short which made it an easier read.

In the end, The Geography of You and Me is a simple story about two people who meet briefly and somehow develop an incredible connection which can be felt even when they are so physically far away from one another. It is also a story about two individuals trying to figure out who they are on their own. Though I found it a bit boring and unrealistic, I do think The Geography of You and Me has an interesting premise with a lot of potential that could make it appealing to the right reader which unfortunately was not me.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Just One Day by Gayle Forman

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Early Book Review | The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I totally get what you mean. I’ve never really connected with any of Smith’s books and this is no exception. Atleast you managed to understand the connection between Owen and Lucy because I honestly can’t wrap my head around it. Great review!

Leave a Reply

