Mystery Mondays |The Execution by Dick Wolf

Mystery Mondays

Mystery Mondays is a sometimes weekly, sometimes biweekly and sometimes monthly review feature here on Words of Mystery that showcases books in the mystery (and on occasion thriller) genre that we are currently reading and our thoughts on them. Feel free to comment and leave suggestions as to what we should read and review next.

Authour:execute
Dick Wolf
Series:
Jeremy Fisk #2
Format:
Advance Reader Copy, 335 pages
Publication date:
January 7th 2014
Publisher:
William Morrow
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk—introduced in Law & Order creator Dick Wolf’s New York Times bestselling debut The Intercept—must stop an assassin in the pay of a shadowy cartel in The Execution, a tense thriller that superbly blends suspense, politics, intrigue and high-flying action in the tradition of Vince Flynn, David Baldacci, and Robert Crais.

Ten days after the Mexican presidential election, twenty-three bodies are discovered beheaded on the United States border, each marked with a carving of a Hummingbird. Detective Cecilia Garza of the Mexican intelligence agency recognizes it: it is the signature of an assassin called Chuparosa. Garza has been pursuing the killer for years, yet knows little about him, except that he’s heading to New York—with the rest of the world.

It’s United Nations Week in Manhattan and Jeremy Fisk can’t let grief over a devastating loss keep him from safeguarding his city. Complicating matters is the startling news of a mass murder in nearby Rockaway—and the arrival of a disturbingly beautiful and assertive Mexican cop.

To have a chance at finding Chuparosa, these uneasy allies must learn to work together and fast. As they soon discover, there’s more to this threat than meets the eye—and that justice is not always blind.

Review:

What would you do if someone close to you was brutally killed? How would you react? Would you take revenge or would you seek justice in some other way? This is something that remains an underlying theme in Dick Wolf’s The Execution.

The Execution follows Detective Jeremy Fisk shortly after the events of The Intercept as he deals with the trauma that is the deaths of his comrades including his partner and girlfriend by the hands of a terrorist. This book also introduces readers to the character of Commandante Celicia Garza, a member of policia federal and part of the security team of the Mexican president in the book. Celicia as reader will learn has her own tragic back story which turns out to have some surprising or perhaps not so surprising ties to the case in the book.

The writing throughout The Execution is razor sharp which helps to move the story along even when the little details start to feel like they are overwhelming you. Additionally the pacing is very slow and there are a lot of details at the start which can be kind of boring depending on how interested you are in the office politics of the different law enforcement agencies in USA. However the story does pick up after a while to become a very interesting and fast paced plot. More specifically for me the story picks up once we are introduced to Commandante Garza and once she and Detective Fisk meet.

The Execution is book two of what I believe will be an ongoing series, still the ending of this book was perfect as it tied things together while leaving just enough room for more books. Even if you’re not a fan of the show Law and Order but you like fast paced thrillers, I’d recommend you pick up both The Execution and The Intercept (the first book in the series) by Dick Wolf.

If you like this book, you’ll love: The Black Box by Michael Connelly

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s