Book Review | Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney

Authour:neverhave
Katie Heaney
Format:
Trade Paperback, 255 pages
Publication date:
January 14, 2014
Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis:

“I’ve been single for my entire life. Not one boyfriend. Not one short-term dating situation. Not one person with whom I regularly hung out and kissed on the face.”

So begins Katie Heaney’s memoir of her years spent looking for love, but never quite finding it. By age 25, equipped with a college degree, a load of friends, and a happy family life, she still has never had a boyfriend … and she’s barely even been on a second date.

Throughout this laugh-out-loud funny book, you will meet Katie’s loyal group of girlfriends, including flirtatious and outgoing Rylee, the wild child to Katie’s shrinking violet, as well as a whole roster of Katie’s ill-fated crushes. And you will get to know Katie herself — a smart, modern heroine relaying truths about everything from the subtleties of a Facebook message exchange to the fact that “Everybody who works in a coffee shop is at least a little bit hot.”

Funny, relatable, and inspiring, this is a memoir for anyone who has ever struggled to find love, but has also had a lot of fun in the process.

Review:

“That’s what I hope this book feels like. You and I are hanging out, and I am drinking too much and talking to you–about my most embarrassing adventures in flirting and kissing and liking boys–for a really long time.”

I don’t normally review non-fiction titles on my blog so when I do feature a non-fiction book on my blog (usually a memoir of some sort) it is because I really enjoyed it which was exactly the case when it came to Katie Heaney’s Never Have I Ever. This book is a fearless memoir about what’s it like to find love when you have somewhat unrealistic notions about what love is really like. Is also about female friendships and how nice, complicated and necessary they are.

As one of a few (three to be exact) in my circle of girlfriends to have never had a boyfriend before, I really wanted to read this book because it felt like something I could relate to. Though I am very happy and secure in my lack of a relationship, my friends do express their insecurities from time to time, sometimes rather loudly. It’s rare to see people talking openly about being single, and enjoying while at the same time wondering (in a not desperate manner) why you can’t find love which made this book seem even more appealing to me.

After reading this book, I’m glad to say that this little memoir did not let me down in spite of my high expectations. It was as I predicted, very relatable in addition to being absolutely hilarious and utterly adorable and charming. I loved that it was a short and simple read though with many hidden emotional depths throughout which makes it an easy read for those who are not big readers. I also loved how the book was divided up into different parts of her life such as her childhood, high school years, college and even grad school. Overall I think Heaney does a good job at capturing not only what it’s like to be single when it seems like all your friends are out dating people, but also what it’s like to be a twenty-something year old today. I highly recommend Never Have I Ever to anyone who is or remembers what it was like being single and trying to find love and not finding what you’re looking for. Also to those who think that there’s something wrong with them because they can’t find a date, I really think you should pick up this book. I for one will definitely be putting this book into the hands of my friends especially those who could really use some hope that no matter what they think they will (probably) find that special someone someday.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Never Have I Ever by Katie Heaney

Leave a Reply

