[Blog Tour] Early Book Review | #16 Things I Thought Were True by Janet Gurtler

Authour:#16
Janet Gurtler
Format:
E-galley
Publication date:
March 4th 2014
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Fire
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis:

Heart attacks happen to other people #thingsIthoughtweretrue

When Morgan’s mom gets sick, it’s hard not to panic. Without her mother, she would have no one—until she finds out the dad who walked out on her as a baby isn’t as far away as she thought…

Adam is a stuck-up, uptight jerk #thingsIthoughtweretrue

Now that they have a summer job together, Morgan’s getting to know the real Adam, and he’s actually pretty sweet…in a nerdy-hot kind of way. He even offers to go with her to find her dad. Road trip, anyone?

5000 Twitter followers are all the friends I need #thingsIthoughtweretrue

With Adam in the back seat, a hyper chatterbox named Amy behind the wheel, and plenty of Cheetos to fuel their trip, Morgan feels ready for anything. She’s not expecting a flat tire, a missed ferry, a fake girlfriend…and that these two people she barely knew before the summer started will become the people she can’t imagine living without.

Review:

I love stories about friends travelling together mostly because my dream is to one day take a road trip with some of my best friends. This was the main reason that I decided to pick up #16thingsithoughtwere true by Janet Gurtler, that and the promise of a romance between the protagonist and a guy who she thought was a jerk but isn’t. #16thingsithoughtwere is a story that does a fine job of walking the line between serious and light hearted moments.

I love Morgan, Amy and Adam who are all easy to love but mostly I adore Morgan and Amy. Morgan I liked because I could totally relate to her in that I often spend more time interacting with people on twitter than those in real life, something that my family members can definitely attest to. Amy’s character is someone who you’d want as a best friend, I would love to be her friend as she always seems to know what her friends need whether its emotional support or even when they need to be made aware of the fact that they are being insensitive. Also the fact that she has her black belt just makes her all the more awesome. I just love how the friendship between Morgan, Amy and Adam was one of the main focuses of this novel. Their interactions with each other and the rapport they develop with each other were just so fun and heartwarming to watch. I especially loved the fact that they never forget that all three of them were friends first before anything.

#16thingsithoughtwere is a great teen road trip novel, it’s also a story of family, friendship, love and just figuring out who you are and owning it. I enjoyed Gurtler’s realistic and touching writing style and thought both the length and pacing was perfect for the most part. This book will really make you stop and consider the people you have in your life and appreciate what you have.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Where We Belong by Emily Giffin

Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

2 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Early Book Review | #16 Things I Thought Were True by Janet Gurtler

  1. oh my God!! I never knew this was a road trip book!! aaaah soo cool because I love road trip books!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it, and I’m so much more excited to finish it now! Great review! and yay for twitter friends!! 😀
    – Farah

Leave a Reply

