Early Book Review | Cress by Marissa Meyer

Authour:cress
Marissa Meyer
Format:
Egalley, 407 pages
Publication date:
February 4, 2014
Publisher:
Macmillian
Imprint: Feiwel & Friends
Source:
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Rapunzel’s tower is a satellite. She can’t let down her hair—or her guard.

In this third book in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, who has been trapped on a satellite since childhood with only her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker—unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing stop her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only ones who can.

Review:

When I found out that I was approved for an egalley of Cress, I was beyond excited. In fact it was at that very moment that I vowed that as soon as I got the egalley I would drop whatever I was reading at the moment to read Cress. And that’s exactly what I did, truth be told once I picked it up I did not put it down for a second until I was at the very end.

What I loved the most about Cress was seeing all the characters, new and old interact with one another as well as working together as a team. After reading Cinder and Scarlet earlier this year, it was nice to be reunited with these characters again and to see what they are up to. Though not as kick butt of a heroine as Cinder or Scarlet, Cress was a nice addition to the team and pretty bad ass with her hacking abilities. I loved that she was a hopeless romantic and I really liked how the relationship between her and Throne was developed over the course of the novel. Speaking of relationships, without spoiling too much I have to say that I loved the new developments that were made in this book when it came to the relationship between Kai and Cinder. Overall Cress was the perfect addition to the Lunar Chronicles series; readers will learn more about Levana and Dr. Erland as well as some of the secrets of Lunar. In addition it was nice to have further world building in the Lunar Chronicles’ world. The only thing I did not enjoy as much was the fact that the team was separated, and that they lost one of the characters. Although considering where that character ends up and who they end up meeting I am beyond excited for the next book, Winter. Too bad I’ll have to wait another year before I am able to read it. In the end fans of Cinder and Scarlet will definitely enjoy Cress. I’m sure I’m not the only one to say this but I cannot believe there is only one more book after this one, it will be extremely hard to say goodbye to these characters and their world once this series finishes in 2015.

If you like this book, you’ll love: Control by Lydia Kang

Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars

Regardless of how this book came into my possession, the above review consists of my honest opinion of the book and my opinion only.

4 thoughts on “Early Book Review | Cress by Marissa Meyer

  1. I’m reading this one right now and I just LOVE it!! I’m sooo excited to see Cress and Thorne’s relationship develop.. hehe! Great review!
    – Farah

Leave a Reply

